KLM Limes and lemons


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
February 22nd 2024
Published: February 22nd 2024
Edit Blog Post

KLM Limes and lemons

-Piprey

Feb 2024

Amsterdam is a liberal capital of goods and crooks. I had the experience of being robbed in the Eurostar from London to Amsterdam and so decided to stick to flights.

My journey started at 4am from Swindon to London Heathrow in National Express. Then a free train from Terminal 2/3 Central Bus station to Terminal 4. Well, both the Mumbai and London airports are full of opportunities for long morning/evening walks and for the enthusiasts, afternoon walks too with heavy luggage so that one can indulge in sweets and not feel regret thanks to vastly spread-out airports!

At security, I was removing both my laptops from my bag to put them on the tray for scanning. Before I knew, the tray was gone.


I looked up and down. The security officer also walked ahead and could not find it. Suddenly, it appeared next to me when a lady co-passenger placed it on the belt. It seems that that tray had slid by itself below the table.

Only snacks and a drink? Decided to buy a chicken avocado sandwich from a coffee shop. To be honest, (KLM airlines provided a nice cookie with lots of fancy grains which I ate for tea later). I just about made it to my window seat and my eyes
View of canal and traffic from officeView of canal and traffic from officeView of canal and traffic from office

Time in early March when trees are bare
could hardly stay open.

In between, there was an announcement that because of few passengers, both tea and coffee hot drinks were being offered. Therefore, it was only coffee earlier? I refused both. I slept.The flight landed on the tarmac.

I saw a stark, flat land, outline of trees with no leaves, canals, roads, cars for a good 20 mins but no sign of the Amsterdam Schiphol airport?


It took ages to reach the gate D24- half the length of airtime.

Once at the gate, it was a mad rush to get the baggage. Someone had picked up my laptop bag and coat and placed it on the seats behind mine. So rude!

My aisle co-passenger was Zen.He appeared from everywhere from the aircraft, to baggage, customs, and luggage before me!

Anyhow, we stood at all passengers’ queue at the Schiphol airport waiting for the magic (good old immigration check) to release us into the city. We waited around an hour.


There were 2 immigration officers only. Midway, there were couple of announcements to use the self-kiosks for EU passengers.

Finally out, I saw my suitcase going around the conveyor belt but could no longer run after it. I picked it up when it came around next time.

The office was 1.5 km away but did not take a chance of walking again. Instead, took the first train from Amsterdam Schiphol airport to Amsterdam Centraal in less than 25 mins. It was a long walk with luggage through a lot of road diversions and constructions to reach my service apartment in Herengracht

Indeed world-wide airlines like KLM and France are flying blues. I imagine, airlines like the Royal Dutch airlines were known for services but it has become just like buying limes and lemons from local grocery store with no cuppa tea on offer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Tram wires and cyclesTram wires and cycles
Tram wires and cycles

It is less polluting. Trees have turned into new leaf by end of March.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb