The Rotterdam Adventure-1


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
October 14th 2022
Published: October 14th 2022
Edit Blog Post

And so it begins....with a wild ride to JFK by kamikaze driver. Had my eyes shut all the way and shivered under the air conditioning. Exited the car and....you guessed it..... managed to fall flat on my back. Hopefully I got that out of the way. I was trying to wrestle the suitcase, carryon, handbag, jacket and cane. Did I ask for help?



Once on the ground I gathered myself, asked for my wheelchair, checked in and headed to the gate. My wheelchair driver did not take me to the TSA pre check at first and the checkin line was very, very long. My advice is to get TSA Precheck or plan for three hours to check in. Once on the right line I breezed through, enjoyed my security massage and settled down in the lounge.



I have never seen a lounge so crowded. They were at capacity and only let me in because they felt sorry for the old woman (YES). Almost every seat was taken and the noise level was kind of loud. I nursed a class of wine and two hours until boardng and so I started my adventure.



For those who don’t know, this cruise aboard the MS Rotterdam is beginning a year long anniversary celebration of HAL’s service to New York on the SS Rotterdam. There are plans for special activities, Dutch foods, special entrees, and expert talks about cruising through the years. We will sail into New York Harbor on the 26th and disembark on the 27th.



Now if only I hadn’t packed the Advil........



I was first on the plane and settled in. Delta calls this a Suite but I call it a pod. My location is the noisiest right behind the galley and restrooms but by this time all I wanted to do was sleep. And so I did, skipped drinks, skipped dinner, lowered my seat flat cuddled my pillow and comforter and dozed on and off through the night.



We arrived in Amsterdam early to catch my ride to Rotterdam but that would soon change. While I was first on the lane I was last off as we waited for a wheelchair. Finally, an attendant walked me down the jetway to an electric cart. There we waited for about 1/2 hr before heading to passport control. Here i was switched to a chair and we were off to baggage claim. From there i was wheeled to the arrivals hall where a meeting place is set up for people waiting for transfers. I met a couple of HAL cruisers but my good fortune was striking up a conversation with a rep for Avalon Waterways, a riverboat company.



We waited for my driver to show up but I was not hopeful because I was an hour late by this time. However the Avalon lady took charge and managed to contact the company head office in Spain and the driver magically appeared within ten minutes. And we were off to Rotterdam about an hours drive. I kept dozing off but was alert enough to see a windmill, sheep, ducks, cows and horses in the fields.





The heavy rain had subsided to a drizzle when we left Amsterdam and when we arrived in Rotterdam the sun was breaking out. Since my room wasn’t ready I was offered a drink but instead I chose to wait in the lobby. By noon i was in my room, spacious corner room with views of the city and river but I just took two Advil and went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb