Homos and hobos


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Eindhoven
March 26th 2011
Published: March 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday (22/03/2011)
Tuesday was to be my last day of ‘training’ at De-V. I started at 6pm and served my own section into the wee-hours of the morning. During the evening it became (quickly) apparent that I had two tables that paid better attention to me than I did to them. With limp-wrists they held onto their manly combinations of beer-and-grenadine or Rosé. My brilliant service of these two tables did, however, prompt one of my colleagues at the end of the night to ask if I delighted in batting for the other side. Apparently it had been in debate since I started working there. My cricket might be just as crap as the S.A. squad’s tenacity, but I firmly and definitively affirmed my affections for the fuzzy taco.

It didn’t help the above-restaurant manager is also gay; no wonder he’s offered me to rather work there so often. Jokes aside, he’s a good man. The questioning of my sexuality came from my rather weird accent, ability to converse so easily with customers and the fact that I’m just a bit different from the average Dutch male. As soon as you’re different questions will arise and with a man; “oh he must be gay” is the first logical explanation. Thank goodness I’ve settled that, but I can’t say it’s helped with working relations. The last South African really left a bad taste in my co-worker’s mouths which is a difficult hurdle to clamber over. This doesn’t bother me much. As long as my customers are content and I’m earning, I’m quite happy. However, what does concern me is my wrist and the fact it’s steadily beginning to hurt more on the job.

After I’d finished my shift on Tuesday those of us that were left sat down to a few beers. It seems after shift there’s a strong tradition of sitting down, drinking and just not doing anything for an hour; even if there are customers about. After the ‘borrel’ the cash was counted and De-V cleaned for the morning that was fast approaching. Three of us were heading in the same direction and decided on a last drink by the canal. On the way we met a bergie on a bike, which was swiftly bought for 10€ by the restaurant manager to ensure he didn’t have to sway his hips anymore. Unfortunately for the real owner of the bike, it was going to be a long walk home. I enjoyed a chocolate milk and beer (not at the same time) with the manager and Josh, an upstairs waiter. We stood shivering, talking and laughing until the birds began to chirp and I had to endure a very wobbly cycle home. Thankfully I could use all four hands to hold on to the handlebars.

Wednesday (23/03/2011)
After arriving home at 6am Wednesday was a late start. I’d arranged to cook with Ariejan that evening and we went shopping for the ingredients in the afternoon. We decided to cook a beef stir-fry which ended up tasting delicious. The pineapple and sauce we added worked out brilliantly. An early night followed as the next day I was going on a new adventure to the other side of Eindhoven; working in the Catharina hospital!

Thursday and Friday (24-25/03/2011)
Thursday and Friday in the hospital was good fun. I worked with a bunch of ‘tannies’ in the staff canteen. It’s easy work, but it does get busy. The manager was so impressed with my wok-rate that I’ve been summoned next week once again. Thursday evening I partook in a wine-tasting course with fellow JMW workers, which was great fun and a good way to get to know them better.
Friday night I worked a dinner of 27 people with one of the ‘tannies’ and we managed fine. I also got to devour a four-course meal during the evening as a few guests hadn’t made it. It is a long cycle home, but thankfully not at witching-hour.

Saturday (26/03/2011)
Tonight I work the late-shift for De-V. I have no idea what this entails, but we’ll see how the wrists fair. Thank goodness they’re not limp… and that my Sunday’s free.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb