Bring on the Carnival!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Breda
March 4th 2011
Published: March 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Blue DelftBlue DelftBlue Delft

Half my costume...
Got a message from a French Erasmus student today saying she wanted to spend a day celebrating carnival with me so we met up in the afternoon, her in her blue outfit and me in half of my Dutch outfit. From 4pm till 7pm we danced in the bars to Dutch silly and jolly carnival music which I soon got the feel for! We joined in the singing as best we could and chain and tunnel dancing- it ended up like early afternoon clubbing! It sure was great to see everyone so dressed up everywhere in town and acting silly in their costumes to such frivolous music! Most people bought their outfits from indians, superheros, pirates, hippies, policemen, princesses, gangsters, babies, animals, birds but I also saw a group dressed as pregnant chavs which was plain brilliant! One guy clearly made his own costume of a little man upto his knees as if the midget was carrying him on his shoulders!
Tomorrow there's a Carnival house party starting early afternoon and I hear my fellow NUCA student, Matt is coming to celebrate Carnival with us tomorrow in Breda, should be a blast!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb