Our day out.


Advertisement
Moldova's flag
Europe » Moldova
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vadu- lui -Voda



It was so hot in Chisinau, 30 degrees plus.
We just had to get out of the city.
Moldova is a landlocked country, so no beach.
It meant there was one option: "Vadu- lui -Voda
Vadu-lui-Voda, situated on the right bank of the Dniester River.
It is a great place for city dwellers to get away from it all
and pretend they are at the seaside.
Residents of Chisinau head en-masse here, to escape the hot, stifling city.
This wonderful place, where you can inhale the scent from the
pine forest that surrounds the river and defends it, like soldiers.
This small part of the Moldova is very beautiful and picturesque.
We caught a Mini Bus #130, it was a very short journey lasting only one hour
After arriving we find a café and we had breakfast.
Then we then set about finding a room for the night.
After a bit of wandering around we eventually found a basic room for $10 a night,
which was located near the beautiful pine forest.
We then made way to the beach, walking by various beach front bars and nightclubs,
the smell of
Our Basic roomOur Basic roomOur Basic room

What do you mean there is no Tv? no bath or shower..
barbecues hung heavy in the air.

The River


The Beach was crowed with holiday makers enjoying the sun and sand and swimming
in the brown river.
Marina waded in the river and began swimming around, waving at me, beckoning me in.
I was reluctant to join her as the water was cold, eventually, I took the plunge
and swam around to get warm.
We spent the afternoon sitting lying in the sun,
reading “Angels and Demons” by Dan Brown, we shared the book between us.
Id bought it originally for Marina, but I had started reading because I had
nothing else to read and now I was hooked and found it hard to put down.
We had dinner in a fancy restaurant and then headed back to the room, a Siesta was
needed after all the swimming.

Red Face


I woke up in the early evening and I could feel my face smarting.
I then realised that I was sunburnt, I looked like a lobster.
Shit, the Sun did not seem that hot, luckily for me, I kept my head covered.
I needed a shower.
I had to walk down to 2 flight of stairs,
On the BalconyOn the BalconyOn the Balcony

England is Dreaming

then I exited the building and then I walked 50 yards to shower room.
The Shower room was a crumbling shed of a building, and there was no f**king
hot water.
We took a stroll in the forest until darkness closed in, around us, so we walked to
the river front.

Bad Taste


After checking a few places out, we settled on a Jamaca Restaurant.
The service was bloody awful. I order Tomato soup,
and I got a dish with chilli beans, potatoes and meat,
I only ate a bit of it, and I gave the rest of it to Marina, who lap it up.
I was saving myself for the mean meal, Id order a big juicy steak.
I drank 3 cold nice cold beers while I was waiting for the main course.
Eventually the main course arrived:
the meat was fatty, the chips were swimming in grease, all in all, it
was not worth the f**king one hour wait.
While we were waiting for the grub, I told Marina "tonight I am gonna be partying
until 4am."
We had a romantic moonlight stroll after the meal.
I started to feel
Kris come to the RiverKris come to the RiverKris come to the River

We go down to the river and into the River we dive............
cold and I borrowed a jumper from Marina, I think I had sun stroke.
We walked into the Dark forest towards, to our room,
its lucky Marina has a good sense of direction, because Id totally lost my bearings.
I lay on my bed, shivering and sweating at the same time.
Marina said to me
“Hey Krissy I thought you was going partying until 4am?"





Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Life guard wantedLife guard wanted
Life guard wanted

Baywatch watch out
2 mountains 2 mountains
2 mountains

Honest Marina its a photo of 2 mountains
Fun in the sunFun in the sun
Fun in the sun

Come on Marina it must my turn to read the book now..Please....pretty please
our Complexour Complex
our Complex

Me an Angel ermmmmm
Lets go the DiscoLets go the Disco
Lets go the Disco

I am gonna party all night long.....
I am cold...I am cold...
I am cold...

suits you sir....
BeerBeer
Beer

Give me beer
I love this placeI love this place
I love this place

Come and join us...
going homegoing home
going home

Babe im leaving i must on my way..
HostelHostel
Hostel

A brilliant and well a stay, great people, great rooms, great if wanna stay near the airport..


14th August 2006

To 'Krissy'
Partying until 4pm??? I hope you meant to say 4am or you are more of a lightweight than I already had you down for!! Maybe it was the 3 beers that you drank, that is 2 more than you can normally handle. Nice of you to take your 6 month pregnant wife partying though!!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb