A miracle, a fishing village, and fireworks


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta
April 29th 2005
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

LuzzoLuzzoLuzzo

Many of the fishing boats, or luzzos, are decorated with the eye of Osiris to ward of evil. The Egyptian myth was brought to Malta by the Phonecians.
After the long day in Sicily, I decided to have a relaxing day--I slept a bit longer than usual, went for breakfast at an outdoor cafe, and wandered the streets of Valletta for a bit.

There were two massive cruise ships in the harbour yesterday, and Valletta was crazy with people. When I'd had enough, I took the bus to Mosta, to see the Mosta Dome. The dome has the third largest diameter in Europe. The inside is incredibly beautiful, and seeing it was a bit surreal, because the only sound (other than the shuffling feet of tourists) was the murmer of prayers being said by the locals.

The Mosta Dome is also known for being the location of a WWII miracle. A bomb pierced the dome and fell inside the church (apparently during a service), but did not explode. A replical of the bomb is in the sacricity.

After Mosta, I decided to hop on another bus and head to Marsaxlokk (marsa-shlock), one of the last traditional fishing villages in Malta. I hadn't originally planned to go there, but I am glad I did, because it was very charming. There are dozens upon dozens of luzzos (traditonal fishing boats) in the harbour, and the harbour itself was lined with low buildings instead of the apartment and hotel complexes that line most Maltese harbours.

I got back to Valletta in time to pick up some food and went back to my hotel to get ready to watch the first night of the fireworks festival and feast on my wine, bread and cheeze. Since I am staying at the Grand Harbour Hotel, I have a perfect view of the Grand Harbour from my hotel room. Let me tell you, the fireworks were amazing--I've never seen anything like it in my life.

The festival kicked off with cannon bursts--let me tell you, cannons are loud. Then the marching band went up and back down the waterfront between two piers. There were short, single burst demonstrations by several Maltese fireworks factories, then a 're-enactment' of the Great Siege of 1565 (a defining moment in Maltese history). This was an audio-visual show with lights and fireworks from different historical locations around the harbour.

The night ended with an amazing 15-minute fireworks display. By the end of it, the harbour was completely filled with smoke. I've got some amazing photos from the whole thing, but you really have to see it to believe it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

16th December 2005

What a great job
I was browsing the internet in search of pictures of the Mosta dome, and I came across your site. I must say I'm amazed. Being a maltese citizen makes me feel so proud to read such a brilliant description of my home island, and I am also pleased to read that you were satified and enjoyed yourself. Thanks alot.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb