Souvenir Shopping


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta
May 2nd 2005
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

As today was my last day in Malta, and I'd seen everything I wanted to see, I did my shopping today, which was an experience in itself.

For the last two weeks, I've been looking at what there is, and comparing prices, so I could get the best stuff today. I'd decided on two places to do my shopping: Ta Qali Craft Village and the Marsaxlokk market.

Souvenirs in Malta fall into one of two categories: beautiful hand-made objects, or tacky souvenirs from the souvenir factory that provides cheap souvenirs to everyone in the world.

I've seen some strange souvenirs here--strange because they seem to be in the wrong country. There's boomerangs, dream catchers, rastafarian parafanelia, minature surf boards, Indian carvings, Africa wood carvings... You get the point.

On the other hand, some of the stuff here is amazing--the hand-made lace, the silver filigree, the mouth-blown glass, the limestone carvings...

When I'm back home I'll add photos to these postings. Until then, ciao.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 30; qc: 149; dbt: 0.2262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb