Ghar Lapsi


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta
July 29th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


On the road west of the Ħaġar Qim and Mnajdra Temples is a turn-off to Għar Lapsi. The name means "Cave of Ascension". The road winds steeply to the coast and at the end you will find a couple of restaurants and boathouses (It is impossible to get lost here, given this place is very tiny).

Right after I got here, I was astonished. What immediately popped up in my mind is "How on earth is the water this clear?!". It is clear enough to see the rocks on the bottom, and even the flocks of fish! This is so amazing! Għar Lapsi is a little cove in the low limestone cliffs which has been converted into a natural lido, with stones steps and iron ladders giving access to the limpid blue water. It is a popular spot for bathing and picnicking among locals. There are not many tourists manage to find this hidden paradise, but I did!

In this beautiful lido, there is danger everywhere. I found the rocks under water is so damn slippery and sharp. You better get a shoes or you must be very careful! (I slipped and fell, and got a cut on my
View from restaurant Blue CreekView from restaurant Blue CreekView from restaurant Blue Creek

Crystal-clear sea water
foot!).

Swimming in such a beatiful place gave me an appetite. I had a try in Blue Creek which has more polish but less local character. I chose a table on the sunny outdoor terrace. It is located directly above the water and I had my lunch with stunning view. What a nice place! I ordered a Maltese pasta.

On the other day, I tied another restaurant - Lapsi View. This is housed in a crumbling blue building that looks a little bit worse for wear, but inside is a taste of retro-Malta where you can see much of the original furniture still in place. As you'd expect, the food here is old-fashioned home-cooking style. I tried spaghetti Rabbit sauce which isn't quite what I expected as I found only one piece of rabbit meat inside! Perhaps this is the kind of Rabbit spaghetti of Maltese style and this is way too normal...I don't know, but at least I won't have this anymore. The pasta itself is not bad though and the environment is nice too, I will go again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Garganelli con Guancia di Maiale e salsicca Maltese €11.50Garganelli con Guancia di Maiale e salsicca Maltese €11.50
Garganelli con Guancia di Maiale e salsicca Maltese €11.50

Garganelli served with local pork cheeks, Maltese sausage, onions, garlic and sage served with red wine and pork jus
白兔意粉 Spaghetti Rabbit Sauce €7.00白兔意粉 Spaghetti Rabbit Sauce €7.00
白兔意粉 Spaghetti Rabbit Sauce €7.00

One piece of rabbit meat only... 離晒譜
FilflaFilfla
Filfla

You can clearly see the Filfla Island - a uninhabited island (no one is allowed to go in....)
A big caveA big cave
A big cave

It's very dirty inside the cave, rubbish floating everywhere -_-'


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb