Quick stop in Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
April 17th 2014
Published: January 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

A long day of travel lay ahead. I bid farewell to Brussels as I walked the final steps to the train station. I made sure to grab some chocolate at the nearby supermarket. For three hours I viewed wonderful Belgian scenery as the train rode eastward. Eventually this scenery turned into Luxembourg. I can't say I knew very much about this incredibly small and landlocked country of less than five hundred thousand but my plan was to stop in for a few short hours, as an extended stay would be out of my budget. My train arrived into the central station and I decided to immediately buy an exit ticket, surprised at how much it would cost to get out. With all my gear in tow, I walked out of the station and into the beautiful streets. A giant gorge runs through Luxembourg city and creates interesting landscapes set with architecture built along the cliffs. I took a beautiful walk over the bridge and headed to the "haute" part of the city. I noticed many parks that were peppered along the way. I found some cheap subway sandwiches for two euro that helped me fuel my walk. Many war monuments lay about, as Luxembourg was involved in several battles against the German's during the second world war. Most of the city seemed to be designed in grid like fashion and it was incredibly easy to get around. All the high class shops one could think of could be found right in the city centre. After about three hours the sun began to dip, and I remembered I needed to get back to the station to catch my transport out.

I first took a bus to the southwest German town of Saarbrucken, amidst beautiful rolling hills. From there I boarded a train to Frankfurt. I got to the central station at around 2300h. From there I only had a short walk to the Frankfurt hostel, which was practically across from it. I checked in and relaxed at the hostel bar where there was an acoustic guitar on hand. I met Mike from Australia and John, a U.S. army personnel who was on his way to Kandahar. I talked to them for a bit and then retired after a serious day of travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 43; qc: 150; dbt: 0.1439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb