Carnival Break


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
February 20th 2009
Published: February 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can't write a lot, because I'm leaving in about an hour for Italy. I don't have class again until two Mondays from now. Carnival is a huge celebration in Europe for the beginning of Lent. People everywhere derss up in crazy costumes like clowns and jesters and theres lots of parties and parades. I'll be going to Venice, Cinque Terre (a group of five small towns), Florence, and Rome.
Two random things about Europe that I have yet to mention...theres dog poop all over the side walks. When I go running I have to be sure to avoid this. One time I even saw someone with their dog letting it poop and then they just left without picking it up. Do they think it decomposses into the cement? Another thought...people here don't care to move out of the way when you pass them. Many times I'll be walking/running the opposite direction as someone or I'll pass someone who is standing still and they remain where they are. This forces me to walk or run almost into the street. They have a different sense of personal space I guess. I've learned to sometimes just walk/run close to them so I don't get run over by the crazy drivers.

I'm pretty excited to experience Italy...and some warmer weather hopefully. I'll have a full update next Sunday or Monday. I hope everyone has a great week!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb