Day after Easter, outdoor musem of Rumsiskes


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Kaunas
April 20th 2006
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Forest within the outdoor museumForest within the outdoor museumForest within the outdoor museum

there's gotta be something wrong grammatically with the sentence i just made...
(I'll write about Easter when I can get pix of them off of my stick)


The family took me to one of the outdoor museums the day after Easter.

It was sort of a reoccuring theme during my stay that I felt like I was intruding on their holiday but not sure how to act. And if they were going to go to the museum only for my sake, then I would've felt like I was wasting their time.
But Renata says that they always go around Easter time, so that made me feel better about going.

The outdoor museum is divided into areas that represent the various parts of Lithuania. As we walk down the paths there would be signs that had the names of what the next areas are supposed to represent. There are performers who are dressed in traditional outfits, houses made of authentic materials, and vendors selling beer. :-p (eer is traditional and authentic!)

Inside each of the houses are the furnishings of the period and sometimes even dress.


I'm feeling uninspired right now for writing, so I'm going to let the photos do the talking.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

AidasAidas
Aidas

with a necklace of bread. Traditional. We all took turns wearing the bread.
Inside of a houseInside of a house
Inside of a house

Look at the size of those pillows!
Outside of a houseOutside of a house
Outside of a house

Not much to look at ...
Dinner of potatoes and PorcinisDinner of potatoes and Porcinis
Dinner of potatoes and Porcinis

Ohh this was soooooo yummy. Look at the amount of porcinis on my plate! I ate them all, and then had another plate.
Sigmund and Satkas (sp)Sigmund and Satkas (sp)
Sigmund and Satkas (sp)

This is my favorite photo of Renata's dad.


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb