Latvia and vintage shopping in Riga


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Latgale Region » Daugavpils
November 23rd 2012
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Latvia - Riga

I had been told many a bad reivew of Riga but I had decided to stay four days anyway. Unfortunately it began with bedbugs in my hostel bed...found crawling on me as I read my book. Ewww. Change of room....change of room again to a private attic....freezing cold but I value my alone time and security more. I walked town, discovered the sights, chilled out, read books, watched movies on my tablet and generally got some recovery sleep and mental health time back in order. I researched the vintage shops, and visited a cupcake shop reccomended in my airflight magazine...I did some damage to my coin purse in both places. I went to the markets, saw the last twilight film in the movies...so cheap 4€, and walked til my feet hurt.

Having a hostel kitchen led me to the grocery store where I made the usual mistake of misreading the pasta sause label owing to the fact it was in Latvian. Anyway instead of bolognese sause, I ended up with tomato paste with oodles and oodles of garlic chunks. No Vampires in the attic room tonight....especially good after just seeing the final Twilight film! Haha I really didn't do many exciting things in Riga, but had a good relax. On my last night I checked out the Christmas markets, spent the last of my Latvian money and found a unique shop to spend my last 3 lats on traditional ribbon for future seeing projects. Relax Complete! :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb