Busy Friday!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 23rd 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

The head of the school cooked for us!The head of the school cooked for us!The head of the school cooked for us!

Delicious traditional Bolognese food, Budino Salato di Riso con Ragu di Carne and Ragu di Verdure
Geo: 44.4944, 11.3492

Hello all, I've heard that some people can't comment on the blog. I've sent two emails to TravelPod and asked for help and have heard nothing back. If you want to comment and can't if you click on their contact link and tell them maybe that would have more of an impact and perhaps then they'll fix whatever problem there is...

A busy day today, last day of school for the week and I'm already half way done with it... Seems like I just got here, two weeks is definitely not enough time to learn a language but it's also hard to be gone longer. Most of the people in the school are college kids so they don't have a problem with that one! Most of them are here for 1-3 months, seems like 3 is the average and many are here for more than that.
After class on Fridays, the head of the school cooks a nice little lunch for everyone, it was delicious and will show you photos, I wrote down the name because I knew I wouldn't remember it. It is called Budino Salato di Riso con Ragu di Carne O Ragu di Verdure, he learned to cook it from his Nonna (grandma) It's rice with eggs, milk, and cheese cooked in a bundt pan, then there was a meat "Ragu" or a vegetarian "Ragu" both were delicious!

J____ and I walked toward the center to check out some restaurants she had found and since we are planning on meeting someplace on Sunday for dinner so went to check them out. Saw some interesting places but two teachers recommended much more local and authentic Bolognese restaurants not in the heart of tourist land so I think we'll head for one of those instead. Since we were out and about and she had tried to find the Jewish Ghetto and couldn't find it, I showed her where it was and we wandered around for a bit, asked around for the museum and decided since we were there to go in and see it. It was a nice little museum explaining the history of the Jewish people in Italy and Europe over the centuries, have photos below. They were expelled from one country/city/region to another time and time again. Interestingly under Napoleon, they had a lot of freedom of religion and freedom in general. Under a few influential families they enjoyed freedom also but when a region was under papal rule they were put into ghettos in many places.

J___ and I parted ways around 4 and I walked back to my apt, arrived around 4:20? And the shutter had not been fixed or the other items taken care of either tried calling both manager numbers I have and was not answered so called the school and asked them to call and see if they could get any action on it. Not sure if that helped or not but the fix it guy came and was super nice, tried to fix the shutter but couldn't, did bring the cleaned couch covers so it feels much more sanitary than before...

Every Friday the school sponsors and leads the students that want to meet at 7 and go to a restaurant for the traditional Apertivo. This is where you buy a drink of some sort, I had a hot chocolate, then you get to eat all you want at a buffet. Some are larger than others, I think this one was huge but it was my first time to go and it was interesting and a super cheap way to have dinner. A usually 4 euro cup of hot chocolate and all you can eat buffet for 8 euros in total was a great deal in my book. I had originally ordered a Coke Light, but when I saw someone else's hot chocolate I asked to switch! I stayed for an hour and decided to walk back to my apt as I need to get an early start in the morning.

The guy to fix the shutter will be here before 8 as that is about when I need to head for the bus to go to the train station to meet our guide to take us to Padova in the morning. Hopefully, all the broken things will be fixed when I come back!

It's 10 pm right now and I'm washing clothes, will put them on the drying rack tonight and they should be dry in the morning.

Got some good steps in today: 11,635 Miles: 5.01. Flights: 9

Will tell you all about Padova either tomorrow or Sunday. Today the wifi went out for a little bit so if you don't hear from me that will probably be why!!

A Domani,
Wendy



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

My plateMy plate
My plate

I dove right in and tried things I had no idea what they were, they were good though! I'm getting so brave ;-)
Laundry!Laundry!
Laundry!

Mostly dry by the morning


Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb