Day 25 in Europe - Rome, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 6th 2013
Published: January 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

When in Rome! Jan 6th, 2013 - Rome, Italy:

Oh my Gosh!!! This has got to be in the top 2 or 3 greatest day i've had in Europe! It os Ridicoulus the amount of Amazing things I saw today. After my long sleep yesterday, I was energized for Awesomeness! And as the first full day of backpacking alone through Europe, I have to say that all my worrires are gobe and I absolutely love it!

Today I I walked Rome for 9 hours and saw the Coloseum, the Ruins, he Vittoriano, the Trevi Fountain, te outsode of the Panteon, the Navona, the outaide of Castel S.Sagelo, the Popolo and the Piazza Di Spagna!!! Holy crap they were some of thee most beautiful things that I have ever seen in my entire Life!!!

When Ileft this morning, I took nothing but myself, a map and my Phone. Coupling my free GPS tracking map of my location and my handheld map from my hostil, I was able to walk to nearly every main point of interest with compkete ease. Walking through Rome was Amazing by myawlf, i was free to go anywhere, do anything at anytime, switch my plans, you name it and it was Awesome! Not that backpacking with Alex wasn't Awesone, cuz it was, but after 23 days of constantly interacting with others has tired me out, and it's a cool change of pase to say absolutely nothing to anyone all day, and juat enjoy my time with just myself and the most beautiful sites on all the world.To do so is a cool contrast from what I've been doing for the past 24 days or so.

I walked all over the place,and will revisite many of them through a couple walking tours I will be taking in yhe next couple of days, and just myself as well. The first siye I visited was the very beautiful TreviFountai, since it was one of my Mom's reccomendations. It was simply Amazing to see for my first aweaome thing to see. I was juat blown away. I took many pictures and decided to eat my first true Italian meal of legit Pizza. It was cery very good and had a millon differwnt fresh toppings and loved it. TTherw was ftee WiFi there so I was excitedy to upload my newly taken picture of The Trevi Fountain to Facebook and then left to swe the Spanish Stairs. That is when I saw something that I never would have imagined seeing. There were thousands of pople on the Spanish Steps watching about 10 very attractive Women in front of profeasional lighting and Video Cameras Dancing to the Gangnam Style song, with the son blasting through the speakers!!!! Lololololol. I never thought I'd ever see people Dancing the Gangnam Style on the Spanish Steps!!!! Quite a sight to behold! Lol.

As I'm typing this in my Hostel lounge, a couple is Making Out at the table across from me and it absolutely disgusts me! Get a Hostel! Oh wait, you have one! It makes meremember seeing about 39 couples throught today Making Out in grobt of all the Cliche spots in front of all the big buildings like the Colosseum at night, and at the Trevi Fountain, and the Ruins, listening to their Public Lip Smacking makes me sick and makes me want to puke all over them! Sorry about that off-traxkness, I'll conti ue with the storie of my day now. If I can forget about all the sappy engagements I saw and possible babiea getting made... Lol.

Anyway, i then make my Trek to Popolo which was pretty co to see that log Egyption Obeisk, and then made my way to all the other places. When I got to the Castel S.Angelo, seeing the view over the cannal was simply breathtaking, and the bridge across the castel with the Angel statuea coming oit of them were Magnificwnt. It was starting to get dark, so made my way to te Navona, wic was te biggest cluster of tourisr trapness Ive wver seen, tn arrived at the Pateeon i total Dark. From therI made my way to what I believe to be thee greateat place to walj around in all of Italy, and quite possibly Europe!

Thesw three places next to eachother were, oh damn now he's sucking on her ear, I think'm going to move. Okay, lol. Oh ywah, theae places were the Vittorino, the Ruins nd then the Colesseum! Please pleasw go to these three places sometime in your life if you havent yet, they are some of thee most beautiful syructures you could ever see. Because I got thwte at night, I havdecided to extend my stay here to be able to see them during the day. But the cool thing was I was able to catch the wnd of a huge Firework show in front of the Vittoriano!!!!

The last thing I daw was the fmous Colesseum,and i will be back since it wqs closed. It was nothing short of Amazing to see and touch it in person after lrarninvabout it mywhole life. Will never forget this day. I then walk back to my Hostel and here I am. I wil ve going to aee the Vatican and Srt. Peter's Basilica and checkout some dudea work, some Dude named Michaelangio.

Until then, keep it real!

-Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb