Rome - if you want to....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 7th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

View of St Peters Bassilica from the gardensView of St Peters Bassilica from the gardensView of St Peters Bassilica from the gardens

Not a bad dusk shot even if I say so myself

ROME

Seriously, who hasn’t wanted to explore Rome, and I wasn’t disappointed by what I saw, just the lack of time to see it (guess that means I’ll be making a return trip then).

Starting off, an awesome sunny day (too nice to be travelling, but anywho) took me from Venice to Rome (via Anconna), and I got into Rome in the early evening. I immediately dumped my pack and was joined by 2 others to head straight into the centre of Rome for dinner then onto a night walking tour (1: Because I couldn’t wait, 2: for immediate city orientation and 3: seeing this beauty by street lights).

While wondering the skinny cobbled stoned streets, I learnt more history about artists and sculptures such as Bernini and Michelangelo, saw some of the major sights such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain (I saved my coin tossing for the following day), baths of Diocletian, and the Piazza Navona (think where Tom Hanks saves the priest from Bernini’s ‘the Four Rivers fountain’ in the movie ‘Angels and Demons’). As expected, the night walking tour was a great introduction to Rome and it's crazy traffic and pubic transport system.
Rome by nightRome by nightRome by night

Not a bad way to see the old town
I was glad that I rushed in for it (unlike others whose idea of experiencing a city is sitting in a hostel bar for happy hour, anyway...) and it was worth the run to make the last train and walking half an hour back (since the buses also apparently stopped at midnight too - safety in numbers).

Wednesday, after only a few hours sleep I packed my stuff and headed back into the city by public transport as I had a date with the Pope. Wednesday is Pope day in Rome generally, but in addition to that I had again crashed another national holiday (possibly something to do with the army since they were in full fluffy hat regatta and doing funny marching), and there were cops and Carabineri everywhere you looked. It was a pretty crazy day in town given it was a semi public holiday.

So, I went into St Peters Square (past surprisingly fairly basic security), heard the big fella Benedict say a few words, had a bite to eat (possibly the best Panini made), then headed inside The Vatican for a lively young persons guided tour before making my own way through to the Sistine Chapel for a look at all its artworks and trying not to laugh at the guys whose job it is to repeatedly say ‘SSssshhhhh, no talking, no photo’ - but maybe you had to be there. The artworks are simply stunning and you literally could spend weeks in there and still not see everything. But, as usual, I had shit to do.

So after fighting my way out of the Vatican Walls behind possibly the slowest walking people to inhabit the earth, and a bunch of nuns (who were taking photos of themselves with their camera phones - too funny), it was time to catch up and stay a couple of nights with my friend Robyn (from Marrickville cops) who has just flown in with her boyfriend Mark (however no phones and only rough time and location meant meeting up was interesting, but we got there and it was great to see a familiar face).

After catching up their apartment it was time to get out and explore, so we found the Piazza Poppolo, saw a few monuments and wandered some back streets for a proper coffee, before we went in search of the most important thing to us - good Italian food and wine. We were staying not far from the Vatican and found a great place in Ottaviano, where we caught up over a 3 course feast and a few bottles of red wine over many hours. But with the guys pulling an all nighter from New York and a bit of jet lag / wine, it was lights out before midnight.

Thursday - massive day. As Robyn and Mark were staying right in the city, all we had to do was walk from our front door and found a quick coffee and prosciutto Panini (seriously quick here, drink espresso while standing up and out the door in under 5 minutes - I like it). We then walked to St Peters Square, past Castel Sant Angelo, and onto the Piazza Navona to view that by day. Next stop was the famous Pantheon (past many other Piazza’s etc) where I stood underneath it’s amazing dome, more coffee and Gelati, and up to the Trevi Fountain amongst the lovers and threw 2 coins in - 1 to return to Italy and another to fall in love (a third would have meant wishing to marry an Italian which is not an ambition of mine).

Fresh pasta for lunch to re-charge before hitting the ruins of the Roman Forum, the intricately carved column of Colonna di Traiano, and the thing I had been waiting for - The Colosseum. I spent hours starring at this thing imagining what the atmosphere would have been like back in the day (we took the option of an interesting audio guide which Robyn accidentally dropped into the ruins - thank goodness we dangled Mark over the edge to retrieve it) . On leaving the Colosseum a summer storm pissed down and we made the dash to the nearest place for a drink to wait the rain out, and walked our way to the lively Trastevere area for dinner (where the waitress TOLD me what I’d be eating...just as well it was good). So, after 14 hours out and about we made it back for more wine and catching up. I left the guys early the next morning to catch the train back and continue my travels.

I could go on and on about all the things I saw and experienced in Rome, but there are just as many things I
Me in the arenaMe in the arenaMe in the arena

It's just that I've always wanted to go here
want to return to as well. Plus, I got stuff to do so onwards I go.

Next stop - FLORENCE



Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Piazza Navona at nightPiazza Navona at night
Piazza Navona at night

Didn't see Tom Hanks rescuing anyone that night though
Pope timePope time
Pope time

the area Pope Benedict gave his little speech
St Peters SquareSt Peters Square
St Peters Square

Again, no Tom Hanks in sight
Me inside the PantheonMe inside the Pantheon
Me inside the Pantheon

Sorry about the slight boob shot
The Four Rivers fountain in daylightThe Four Rivers fountain in daylight
The Four Rivers fountain in daylight

Me and Robyn chilling out
The Pope and IThe Pope and I
The Pope and I

As close as I got
Inside the ColleseumInside the Colleseum
Inside the Colleseum

How cool is that
Benini by BeniniBenini by Benini
Benini by Benini

A cheeky little bugger my tour guide told me
Vatican squareVatican square
Vatican square

Pretty brass art/monument inside the Vatican grounds
Vatican squareVatican square
Vatican square

Just don't sit on the grass - it's holy
Go the artworkGo the artwork
Go the artwork

There are thousands to stare at
Spanish steps at nightSpanish steps at night
Spanish steps at night

A tad over-rated, but I saw some people dancing to Vivaldi's Four Seasons followed by Jet's 'cold hard bitch'....unusual
Freaky statues everywhere in the VaticanFreaky statues everywhere in the Vatican
Freaky statues everywhere in the Vatican

I think this one was spared the great penis cover-up that went on
More Vatican artworkMore Vatican artwork
More Vatican artwork

Just dont ask me what it is


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb