Sicily, Sardinia and a bike race


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Since our last blog it feels a lot has happened.

After leaving Italy mainland, we spent about a week in Sicily. Our first stop was a fairly ordinary campsite at Taormina so we only stayed one night although I did get a great pizza there for dinner. We then headed west and found a cracker of a campsite near Cefalu. Had a great pitch (camp talk for spot) overlooking the coast, a great pool, and walking distance to a typical Sicilian village (I guess). We stayed there for 3 nights relaxing by the pool and taking the odd stroll into town for some supplies. It was here that I first noticed the transmission leak was getting worse…again. So I did what all men would do and climbed under the car with a spanner only to make it worse…it was now like a tap. So after a few more hours under the old bitch (the car), I had stemmed the flow to a manageable level. After our 3 days were up, on the Saturday we headed to Palermo to get the weekly night ferry to Sardinia. On arrival (about an hour) we were told that due to the weather and rough seas the ferry was cancelled and was now due to sail at 10pm on Sunday. So after a few expletives aimed at the ferry operator along the lines of you could have called us, we drove around Palermo to find no campsites, so headed back to Cefalu. When there, we booked back in and surprisingly got the same spot. At this point I stupidly put my head under the van to find my attempt at stemming the flow of transmission fluid had not worked, it now appeared like a broken water main. Under the car I went again, and several hours later, the fluid had stopped. Given it was now Saturday afternoon, the only mechanic in sight was closed so we had no choice but to drive on in the morning. After a stressful night of thinking we will need a new transmission, we headed to Palermo, getting there at lunchtime. We now only had 10 hours to kill.

After walking the town for an hour looking for the Monaco GP with no luck, we headed to the Catacombs’. On the way we found the F1 and watched the last 15 laps. Now the Catacombs’ rates as the strangest tourist attraction we have seen. It was a basement full of dead bodies, fully clothed, some still with skin and hair ranging from new borns to oldies. Needless to say, it was a quick tour. We then walked some markets before having the best Italian dinner we have had thus far. There is nothing better than Margareta pizza followed by Spaghetti Vongole. Back to the van to find she was still pissing transmission fluid…although I was please that at at least we still had some in there. Another few hours wait due to the delayed ferry, which was a container ship by the way, before we got on board found a seat, and relaxed for 16 friggin hours of shear hell!.

Finally we got to Sardinia and headed straight to the Ford dealership. Put the car on the hoist, showed them the leak, and got mentally prepared for the bad news. They then laughed, took 5 minutes and a bit of black stuff to fix, waved us off and all it cost was a couple of kisses from Em on the mechanics cheek….woohoo, we are back on the road and in the game, and still are. We then started the drive through Sardinia and were amazed by the scenery. You go from coast, through green fields, into the mountains, then back on the coast all within the space of an hour. After staying in a fairly ordinary campsite on day 1, we headed further north and found a great site, right on the water with a private beach, bar, restaurant and importantly great toilets. After a few days here of doing nothing we had to sadly leave to get the ferry back to the mainland. This time, the ferry was like a luxury liner taking only 5 hours for the crossing. Back on the mainland our first stop was Sienna which was lovely and typically Italian, or what we think is anyway. After a few days we headed up to Florence. We did the Florence thing…Em bought a handbag, checked out wedding venues (it just so happened AJ & S reception venue was next to the campsite), saw some art, bought ridiculously expensive ice cream, and all in all loved it.

From here, we drove to Aprica in the Alps to meet friends (Kristie and Greg) and checkout the Giro Italia (bike race). Driving into the Alps past the lakes was breathtaking. We found the campsite to find that the course for the race goes past it twice. We were told to put the van next to an Aussie couple of which we did. Afterwards we met the couple and they were typical Aussies from Perth (it will make sense shortly). After walking the town and getting some groceries we retired to the campsite in eager anticipation for race day. Getting up in the morning I was met outside the van by John, the Perth guy from next door. Now, I know people say Aussies diction can be quite unique but this guy took the cake. I will try and recall the conversation for you.

Ben: Morning
Jon: Gday cobber, you get some shut eye.
Ben: Yes thank you, how about you
John: Got a bit, but the fuckers next door came in at 1.30 and woke me up, and then I was up again at 5.30 for a slash
Ben: Oh, I did not hear them come in
John: Shit ahh. Anyway mate, gotta go, Louise is cooking up some grub for brekkie.

After breakfast, we headed to town and met up with Kristie and Greg. To see friends again truly was magnificent. After a coffee and a catch up hearing all about their wedding which we sadly missed, well Em heard about it whilst Greg and I talked cycling, we decided to watch the first leg of the race at the campsite, then go up to the finish line for the end. We got a spot near the campsite and saw the leaders then the peloton come flying past. Outside the campsite, there were a bunch of about 20 guys dressed as smurfs and rather intoxicated. When walking past, Em got swamped. They jumped around her, taking photos, both in a group then insisting each on their own. They asked “where in Italy are you from”, and when Em replied “Australia” that made them worse. There were guys yelling I love you, I love kangaroos so on and so forth. I was too amused to take photos myself, so sorry for that. After a few beers, we then made our way to the finish line and saw them come home. Greg and I then agreed to try and get some autographs on our free promo hats. I spotted some cyclist in green signing for some kids up ahead so I took off leaving Greg in my wake and Em and Kristie laughing as usual. On arrival to ‘the guy in green’ the kids had got the autographs and left leaving me and him. I gave him the hat asking for an autograph of which he took the hat and replied “got a pen”. Me being the amateur replied, “no, don’t you have one”. At this point there was an awkward moment before a kid came up with a pen. After this bloke, and I say this bloke as I had no idea who he was, signed my hat, I saw Greg running towards us throwing his hat at me for a signature. At this point, I replied, apparently loud enough for the guy in green and his parents to hear me, “I don’t even know who the fuck this bloke is”. A tad embarrassing for the poor chap but I thought it was quite funny to tell the truth. He turned out to be Matthew Lloyd, a young up and coming Australian cyclist who from this ,oment forward will now carry his own autograph pen. Afterwards, we bought some paraphernalia, had dinner before heading back to the van after a great day in eager anticipation of heading to Verona to see the last leg of the race.

In Verona we found a campsite that was walking distance from the town and met up with Kristie and Greg for dinner. We found a lovely little restaurant and after sitting down and ordering beer and wine we were introduced to their menu, with its specialty, horse..I shit you not, and it was good.

On Sunday we headed into town for the race, this time a 15km individual time trial. After walking around the team vans and checking out the bikes, Greg and I decided the goal of the day was to get a few water bottles, preferably from BMC which is Cadel Evans’ team. So first stop, BMC. Em and Kristie started chatting to the BMC bus driver who suggested there maybe some water bottles after the riders had trained and that Cadel himself would not be there until later in the afternoon. We then went around the other vans, where Greg and I got a signature and water bottle of Matt White, some Aussie cyclist who rode in Lance Armstrong’s team. This time I was more prepared than in the mountains and actually took a pen with me. Em and Kristie could not stop laughing at Greg and I ‘the groupies’. On the way back we went past BMC again, where the driver waved at the girls and came for a chat. At this point Greg and I decided to distance ourselves from the girls given the interest the driver had taken with them and thought they had more chance with them than us, the crazy groupies. The driver indicated to the girls that there were still not bottles as they had not warmed up yet. We then headed up to the race and watched the start for an hour or so. Em and Kristie then went back to BMC to be told by the driver Cadel was out looking at the track but would be back in 15 minutes if we they wanted an autograph. On hearing this, Greg and I walking about 10 metres behind Em and Kristie made a bee line for BMC. On arrival the driver gave the girls a little wave and smile again. Greg and I stood a few paces away so as not to impede on their strategy, or ours should it be known. 30 minutes later and with a crowd of about 50 around, Cadel himself walks from the bus straight over to Em and Kristie and says, “I hear you ladies are desperate to meet me”. Greg and I are speechless, shaking in excitement. Em and Kristie not bothered by the great man replied simultaneously, “no, but our husbands do” pointing to us strategically placed next to them. So, after a few awkward minutes we had a chat about his strategy for the day’s time trial, he signed our hats and we had a few photos with him (I will add this is about 1 hour before he is due to race). During the photo session with Em and Kristie madly snapping away, a group of about 20 had formed behind Em and Kristie and also started snapping away. Cadel then heads back in the bus leaving the 50 or so other supporters to simply admire Greg and I, so much so that they start taking photos of us. We figured Greg being tall looks like a professional cyclist and me with my blonde locks thought I was a Swedish rock star.

We then headed back to the start to watch the top ten, including Cadel, up the starting straight. After the race was run, we headed to a bar for a drink then headed to dinner before going back to the campsite after a cracker of a day. Greg and I both agreed we have never been prouder of our wives.

Now, we are in Venice for a few days before heading to Cinque Terra, pronounced The Ching Quay Terr by John, the Ocker from Perth.

Love to all,

Em and Ben xx





Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

ApricaAprica
Aprica

Waiting for the pelaton
ApricaAprica
Aprica

A tad too close
ApricaAprica
Aprica

The winner
ApricaAprica
Aprica

The dude in the green just after I asked if he had a pen to sign my hat


1st June 2010

Great read
Hi my dears Great to hear from you again. You certainly are covering a lot of ground in your travels. Can't wait to see all your pics! Weather is lowsy here, second week of rain although not too cold. Love to you both xx
2nd June 2010

Cadel
What's a Cadel ?
2nd June 2010

Cadel
That John from Perth told me say that ! I know Cadel's a F1 driver, I'm not stupid .
2nd June 2010

Happy Hols.!!
Well done, looks like you are having a great time, fancing catching up with the great Cadel Evans, during the photos I bet the crowd were saying "who's that standing with Ben Galvin"!!! Best news here is Eli is now walking all over the place and gives great cuddles, I give you a ring on the weekend, Luv to you both, Dad and Caz

Tot: 0.483s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb