Day 7 - The roads lead to Rome 24/12


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
December 24th 2009
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

road stoproad stoproad stop

A little off the road diner for morning tea
It was sad to leave Venice. I could have easily spent more time there, but I was excited to head off to Rome for Christmas day. One aside was we were told just before getting to Venice that on Christmas day, we would do a mystery present swop, so if everyone could purchase a gift to the value of 3 euro and wrap it up to put in the box and at lunch we would all take a lucky dip. I think everyone bought stuff in Venice for the box. Was the easiest option really.

Driving out of the Venice area, I couldn't help but notice that for once the countryside although pretty at times had some kind of ugly looking houses! I guess I should quantify why I would say that. I realise it is mostly farm land and all, however going from Amsterdam, with their pretty little homes, then Germany, didn't really stand out, but on the flip side it also didn't stand out, if you know what I mean ... Switzerland were the most dreamy little chalets, and then out of Venice you have concrete buildings with very little artistic features to them. Kind of just like blocks. I know, I shouldn't talk living in just a blocky double story back at home, it just seemed strange to me. Italy always seems to conjure up images of art to me, and after Verona and Venice it was a case of Oh! I could also state, it explains the set of units that my father-in-law built beside our house, but I might get thumped for stating that! (Yep he used to live in that region, just explains the look of the buildings - seriously 😞 ).

This was a kind of boring day for the most part. Just driving through the countryside that wasn't that enthralling. Alot of people had out their fancy phones and mp3 players to keep them entertained. There were some really pretty sections I have to admit, but it was really just a very long day in the bus again.

We stopped at Assisi to see where St Francis was born. It was interesting for the fact that our tour guide, ok, so he was Italian and all, gave us this lovely story of how interesting St Francis was and all for the fact that the guy stole his dads clothes and sold them off because he had an issue with wealth and then lived as a hermit all his life, and yet totally dissed William Tell when we were leaving Switzerland for the fact that once he had killed who ever it was he had killed (oh and the whole apple on the head thing with his son), the man went and retired and lived out the rest of his days at home. He made some comment that, that is Switzerlands hero, they are a pretty boring country. I dont know, I love the story of William Tell, and think its so much more exciting than some stroppy kid! Thats personal opinion though .... anyway

back to Assisi. The place was all brown. It was a little bit interesting for the fact it was built on a hill with its roads winding up and down, however I dont know if I was just at the grumpy stage of the holiday or not, it didn't draw me in like alot of the other places did. I guess seeing all these shops selling off all religious trinkets as well, just doesn't sit well for me. Its almost ironic that there were so many shops selling those types of wares in that place, considering that story of St Francis.

We eventually made it to Rome. You know, I dont actually remember much about entering Rome. Shocking isn't it! I think I saw one gypsy base on our way in, but that was it for the whole trip re them. Being Christmas eve, everything was totally insane! Seriously I dont think I have laughed so much seeing their traffic! The laughing was out of shock I think! The rules of driving in rome are 1. If you have a bumper bar, thats used to bump things, ie push cars out the way so you can park in a spot seriously not big enough for you but you have to try anyway. 2. Parking, if you can't go in parallel, but fit at 90 degrees, heck, just do it! Then if there are no more spots, put on hazard lights and double park! So long as hazard lights are on, you can park anywhere! Trust me they did. 3. Corners are bits of the road as well, and feel free to park there parallel, or 90 depending on how you will fit!. 4. The bus will hit your car if it can't get around the corner, but thats ok, cos its got a bumper bar, and it was only a bump really! TOTALLY INSANE!

Now just a word about Rome. With our tour being at Christmas time the ONLY option that was available to us was the Treasures of Rome by Night and Dinner! The Vatican Museum and the other dinners were not offered at all!

That being said, the dinner in Rome was an option I had been looking forward to! It was 52 euros per person, however it was so much fun! We took a drive around Rome at night and saw several of the monuments and drove past the Vatican before making our way to the Spanish steps. From here on, we walked for a bit. We had a lovely time in the slight rain walking down the steps and there was plenty of time for taking photos! There were quite a few people out and about. We then walked over to Trevi Fountain. Actually reading their description of this tour, I'm not sure what all those villas were ... maybe we saw it, who knows. Anyway the fountain was fun and we were constantly accosted by the umberella selling black people. I dont mean that in a bad way, its just that all the people selling the dodgy goods apparently are straight up from Africa. If you go, you will see what I mean. There is a policeman watching the fountain at all times, and will blow his whistle if anyone tries to climb on portions of the main structure.

By this time you are literally starving, and the tea does not start til 9pm! Seriously after this night I learnt and would take a packet of biscuits or similar from the breakfast table for the "just in case" senario. I also had allowed myself to get a touch dehyrated that day, so for the dinner unfortunately I had a migraine 😞

After the fountain we hopped back on the bus and around to a little restaurant which was quite busy. I think there were three or four groups in there having meals. We were put into a hot little room, made worse cos everyone was sitting so close to each other. One aside is, in this place we were at, the toilets were an adventure in itself. Seriously I sent down a bunch of girls to check out the rest rooms for the sake of checking them out! It was like a florist down there! With so many different stalls and bits and peices. Sinks were in no particular order and there were flowers everywhere! It was so cute.

The meal was amazing. Now I could eat it all, cos I felt I was going to vomit from the headache, but I did sample bits of everything. All I could say was wow! The people that did eat it all, or attempted to, were totally stuffed by the end. There were five courses in total! Another point to mention was they had musicians come in and entertain us, which was a hoot (very loud though), and the main waiter was a total blast! At the end of the night, he came in with a vase of long stem roses and proceeded to make a huge show out of going around to every female in the room, giving her a kiss and presenting a rose to her. It was somewhat embarrassing. It was also not optional. Best to hope its over and done with quickly.

Overall that was the best meal and whole night in general of the entire trip. We arrived back to the hotel really late. Maybe 11:30am. We had been informed that we were to be treated the next day, for the first time the Colosseum was going to be opened in the morning, however that mean we needed to be on the bus by 7am!!!!! Actually I think it was 7am, maybe 8am? It was just awfully early because from memory i didn't get to bed til 2:30am that night and had a 6am wake up call the next day! Fun times


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

base of spanish stepsbase of spanish steps
base of spanish steps

Joel with a bunch of the younger people on our tour. Was actually a really good mix of people


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb