Where was I?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 19th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I left off in Lucca. Well I have to start off by saying, the weather on my trip has been superb!! It continued in Lucca as well. We rented bikes, and walked through the little town enclosed in an old medievel wall, which on top of is where we rode the bicycles. Fun way to see the city. We also went and saw a concerto in a church, it was two women singing opera. Also, in this church there is an old archeological site! There were things there from layers of history...going back to the 1st century. Yes, the first! On top of that were things from the first through the fifth centuries. Yep pictures will come, but it will be difficult to really see from photos. Oh the moment of almost heart attack came in front of this church as well. The story summed up is I almost lost my purse which was inside my backpack, which I had set down for a photo and then continued to walk away, get back on the bike and ride off. Oh, yes...my passport, my money, my license, my credit and ATM card, and other significant, but replaceable things!! Once I had
Nice view of garden...Nice view of garden...Nice view of garden...

from top of wall in Lucca
come back to the church, I realized it was gone..and sitting there were two English ladies watching it for me!! OMG!! That could have been a really, really bad day and we proabably would hav emissed the concert, huh? But, thank God it was saved!! Never in Chicago or New York would that have happened..no way!! moving on....

We stayed in the cute little house outside the wall! I love staying at bed & breakfast´s or someone´s house..it is a nice experience and usually it is a lot cheaper than a hotel. It was nice. Too bad we only stayed for one night. But, once again we had to get on the road to head to another absolutely fantastic, beautiful place which I definitely plan on visiting again. The Cinque Terre. (five towns) Bellisimo!! Look it up on the internet if you want to see more. But, let me tell you it was one of the best places I have ever been. Well, in the top ten for sure!! And of course, the weather was great there too and we saw the greatest sunsets!! Well, that chicos and chicas will be told next time!!

Ciao or Adios as we say here in España!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Same church...Same church...
Same church...

Lucca was birthplace of Giacomo Puccini (in 1858), one of Italy's most famous operatic composers
Archeological siteArcheological site
Archeological site

under church- San Giovanni


Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb