Comparing Venice to the cities I visited


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 22nd 1088
Published: November 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

The next morning, I met up with some of my buddies in the center of the city. The night before, I was anxious because I could not wait to see them again for the first time in a while and tell them all of the great experiences I had on my trip. I told them about my time in Constantinople. I informed them that it was a great city with many cool people and attributes. Similarly to here, the main religion was Christianity. I was able to bond to some fellow Christians that were standing in front of this massive temple. The architecture was amazing the people said that it was constructed by their ruler, Justinian. I thought it was amazing how a leader of such a prosperous area could help construct this beautiful religious center. I asked about their government and laws and they responded that they followed Justinian's Code which was a legal code with a strict set of laws. The people were very civil in the city and the architecture of the buildings blew me away. After meeting all of these great people, my time there was done as I next ventured on to Baghdad. This was the capital city of the Islamic Abbasid empire. This city was completely different from one I had ever seen because of the amounts of luxury goods and extremely wealthy people that were all around the area. They even played games called polo, I can’t wait to start playing with you guys, it was very fun! As a whole, the empire was extremely well educated and women had a considerable amount of rights. I even got an opportunity to read the Koran in Arabic due to the fact that they had paper and printing systems, which meant that texts could be copied and transcribed. I assumed that that was why the people were so well educated. After my extended stay, I was off to my final new location; Calicut, the capital city of India. Here, great tasting spices were traded and I was able to try some and put them on my foods. Inversely to Baghdad, women had no rights at all. It was clear that trade was the main reason for the growth of the city and the fact that their ports were located right in the middle of the Indian Ocean trade made it easy for foreign merchants to enter the city. Overall, I think that Constantinople was my favorite city and I hope that one day we can all go traveling together!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb