July 15th - Taxi, no taxi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
August 1st 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Old gatewayOld gatewayOld gateway

Heading to Corso Porta Nuova in Verona
July 15:

Still not 100% but feeling much better about the state of my health now. Hopefully if I continue to take the stomach pills for the recommended 10 days I should be okay... fingers crossed.

Well, four hour train ride, a coke and a large turkey & salad sandwiche haven't unhinged my stomach.

The Italian countryside was beautiful; mountains, fields and then we went past lake Garda... perfecto!

Had a brief moment at the train station of wondering if I should get a taxi... glad I didn't because it turns out that Verona is fairly compact and my hostel i much closer than I thought... barely 10 minutes walk from the train station!
The room is awesome, though it should be since this is no hostel (couldn't find any hostels) it's a B&B, I've got a private double room and unfortunately the booking gave me the choice of booking for 0 or 2 people so I've had to pay for 2 people but for a night of quiet privacy (en-suite with a bidet and everything), maybe a slight expense isn't so bad... not to mention the fact that the room has lots of pictures of Audrey
My room at B&B ArielMy room at B&B ArielMy room at B&B Ariel

strangely it had a bunch of stuff marked with the name of B&B Arno which was the nextdoor B&B
Hepburn all around the place which is kind of odd, but I'm not complaining.

Was slightly confusing navigating the inside of the building as there are a few different lifts/elevators here but they all only go to select parts of the building so you have to get the right one... all really old school lifts too with like folding wood doors that you have to hold closed until the lift shuts. The B&B is on the 4th floor, so again; hopefully this means a quiet night of sleep!
~Later~

Had a good meander, lots of old buildings mixed with one or two rather tacky looking modern shops (surely they could have put the McDonalds somewhere else? Tasteful outdoor garden seating or no tasteful outdoor garden seating).

Had gelato (strawberry, biscotto & yoghurt flavours) though that was maybe a mistake... a delicious mistake, because they gave me huge scoops and I think my stomach wasn't entirely happy... suck it up stomach!
Researched the next bit of trip to Slovenia; turns out it's a giant pain in the arse! Every country around Slovenia seems to have a cross-border train service EXCEPT for Italy! So it looks like I need to take a train from Verona to Venezia Mestre, then a bus to Villach and from there a train to Ljubljana... I'm exhausted just writing that let alone having to get through it! It is so warm, I think I could just sleep on top of the covers with that ceilling fan going tonight and still be warm enough... wonder what the temperature is like in NZ at the moment?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb