Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
December 20th 2014
Published: January 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Christmas markets were beautiful, as expected, but the weather was cold (3 – 5 C) and the humidity was 57%, so it made for a chilly, breezy visit. The foggy mist that waved into the city from the sea was quite magical. The fact that streets and walkways dead end into canals all over this city make it very truly a labyrinthian city.

Three days is more than enough in this city, as it is so very small. I felt as tho I was in a theme park more than a city since the tourism angle is so heavy in such a small area. Gondola St. Nick’s, International Performance Arts Week hosted by Venice; La Pocha Nostra was very interesting, Fiorella Gallery was pretty rad. I stayed in two hostels; Marco from the IPAW show I attended was staying at the second hostel, and quickly became a legend there as well.

One evening, I sat out on the balcony and spaced out, gazing at the Christmas lights on the businesses across the canal, and their dancing reflections in the water between us. I didn't notice the city sinking; I am sure it will be there in another hundred years, barring a climate catastrophe. The food was basic, not what I had thought it would be or hoped for, but I thought it was just the place I selected. It was very cool to feel the authentic vibe of the city when wandering through the streets as a purposefully lost tourist.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb