Venice, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 8th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Venice

Notice that Ljubljana isn´t even on the map? That sucks. PS- I found the ? key

I decided that Claire was also too smelly (they´re all going to kill me when we meet up again for Oktoberfest!), and headed off on my own, going solo for a week, while Claire headed back to Prague.
I caught a train across the Italian border to a city called Trieste. I arrived at night, struggled to find my place to sleep, but finally made it, giving me time to wash clothes, shower and crash for the night. In the morning, I walked around the city checking out the sites, taking some photos. The place was alot more appealing in daytime than when I arrived the night before. Since this was only a pitstop, I jumped on a train for Venice.
Arrived in Venice with a few good hours before dark, so grabbed a map and headed out on foot. Venice is a crazy maze where even locals get lost, so i decided to rest at a pub, have a couple and draw out a route to follow. Found some beer on tap that was 8% alcohol. Had a few of those, which either made me too drunk to draw on the map properly, or too drunk to follow it..... or both. I got lost numerous times but managed to see most of what I´d routed out. That night I went to a canal-side restaurant for a nice pasta meal (and to top up alcohol level). The next day, i ventured out to finish what i started the night before. Although I managed to do all that i´d planned, i still got lost numerous times. I´ve decided that it wasn´t the alcohol the night before that made me get lost, it´s just the way it is in Venice. And it´s all part of the fun. Venice was cool.
Anyway, there are other countries waiting, so I caught a train to where the airport was, got lost, caught a taxi, found my way back again, and jumped on a plane for....... (to be continued)

PS- HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!!! Love you lots (and you know i mean it if i´m willing to write it for all my family, friends and other people to see it)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb