Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 31st 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Over the recent long weekend in the UK I took an extended break to Italy to visit Venice and surrounds. I based myself in Venice for the 5 nights in a rather expensive but terrible hostel and then travelled around venice, verona and a day trip to the dolomites. Despite the heat and the humidity I enjoyed my time there. Venice itself had the most appeal from dusk into early evening when the water and the lights twinkled. I also enjoyed taking a trip out to some of the islands- Murano, Burano and Torchello.
I took a day trip into the Dolomite mountains on my second day there which was really nice, to get away from the city and see the mountains. The mountains were still snow capped which made it all the more beautiful. I also took a day trip to Verona which I'm sure you know is the home of Romeo and Juliet. Verona was a beautiful city with lots of little alleys and I really enjoyed my time here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb