Dolomites- Day 1


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Overall it was a wonderful day! July 16, 2007
I was having my doubts intially. I expected to to arrive at my take-off point into the foothills of the Dolomites in about 1/2 hr.--instead it took 1 hr. more. By this time the temp. was hovering close to 30C and the humidity was about 90. Nonetheless I got away, uphill of course, but after 5 km. the road felt rougher than I expected--I had a flat!!! I had to work hard at my Budda -like composure - maybe a holdover from all the practice I got when my RA was particularly active. I got going again and it felt great. I must admit that I had some apprehension cycling these unfamiliar roads alone, particularly since we've had some bad storms most afternoons and the clouds were building over the mountains again. In middle of all this beauty it occured to me that I had no pictures of my new cycling shorts and jersey. I couldn't very well take my own picture but I was able catch Elvis as he was riding by ( his name really was Elvis) and with a series of gestures I conveyed my request. My limited Italian must be akin to that of a 6 month old Border Collie ---I run up to strangers and drop my camera at their feet and then point to myselfs - they'll either call the police or take my picture. The roads in this part of the country can only be described as a mazes but the constant confusion is more than compensated for by the beauty of this country and the. warmth of the people - particularly the young woman who filled my water bottles and added heaps of ice. A great intro to the climbs of the Dolomites . Yes , I did have a large gelati , and I mean LARGE, to celabrate the first day in the Dolomite region. Ciao for now.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb