Venice!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Glass and silk. And apparently weird Marti Gra masks are the big things sold here in Venice. I did end up buying some Venitian glass...now I just need to make sure it doesn't get destroyed over the next 2 weeks!

Yesterday, Tuesday May 29th
So, we arrived at our 'London Hotel' sometime in the evening yesterday after our short stop in Milan. When we entered the area of our hotel Shan said she noticed a tkd sign on our way in. So, of course I walked up and down the roads looking for ever trying to find the daggum school, which I didn't find. So, instead I stuffed my face with thick spagghetti from a restuarant down the street called the Casa something. It was pretty good. Afterwards I got a gelato and walked on the beach. Yes, our hotel is conveniantly located on the Adriatic Sea. Unfortunately it was pretty cold (no swimming for me).

Today, Wednesday May 30th
We left at our hotel at 7:25am this morning! Soo early. We got on our bus with our new bus driver Antonio. He dropped us off at the Sea and we hopped onto a boat that took us to Venice. Now, the neat thing about Venice is that there are no cars on this island, and of the 117 or so islands in the area only one island has cars on it (and that is because it has farmland on it). Anyways, so we watched a glass factory demonstration, which was cool, and then we did a walking tour. Afterwards, Shan and I got on a gondola and road around the canal. Then we had lunch (I got Lasgnana) and we met up again at 2:15pm for a boat ride to three other islands. The islands were Murano, Torchello, and Burano. Murano is where the glass factories I believe originated. Torchello had a pretty neat church on it, as well as Attila the Huns thrown. Burano is a very colorful island where each family has a different colored house and many of the individuals grow crops or sew lace.
We then got on a bus with a bunch of idiots and went back to the hotel. Then I got tortillini and now I am here...very condensed, I know but people are waiting for my computer...Tomorrow we go to Rome!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb