A day in Padua!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Padua
May 22nd 2010
Published: May 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We had quite the day in Padua today! The group met at 8 am and walked to the Vaporetto. On the way to the train station, the ride down the grand canal was much more gentle than some of our previous rides on open water. We saw the Ca d’Oro, which we studied several times in class. It was strange to see such detail in person!

The Vaporetto ride to the train station was very short. I think I could ride the whole route all day and never get bored. The train ride to Padua was short, and I was able to write some postcards. I had purchased more than I thought I needed, and it turned out to be an underestimate. So anyway, I wrote 8, and I should be sending those out Monday.

Once in Padua, we met up with Professor Corrigan, who was on a personal trip to Florence. I really enjoyed his presence in the group. I have never had him as a professor, so this was my first time officially meeting him. He was really cool! He enjoyed everything with leisure, and just seemed to be enjoying his trip.

First, we visited Padua University, where the first anatomy amphitheatre is. The amphitheatre was incredibly cramped and small. I imagine that the men of its time were smelly, hot and uncomfortable while they observed the dissections. With the thought of such a cramped space, I am thankful to live in modern times, when things aren’t as gruesome and smelly in the lab.

We went into a large building next to the produce market to see the Donatella Equestrian Statue of Gattamelata. Everyone got up close, but I was distracted by one of those pendulum clocks that runs by the gravitational force of the Earth. What can I say....I am a science geek, and I would rather puzzle out the clock than get an up close view of a GARGANTUAN horse. I appreciated it from afar. After this, we went to a produce market. I got two nectarines. One was tart, but the other was perfect. I almost ordered 2 kilos of nectarines. That would be 8 pounds!! Luckily, Professor Corrigan saved the day, translated for me, and made sure I got what I was REALLY asking for.

After this 20 minute break, we went to Basilica di Sant’ Antonio! It was AMAZING! Everything inside was beautiful, and though I don’t personally believe in the power of relics, I paid a visit to Anthony’s body. It didn’t do much for me, but at least I experienced it. I think I did 3 laps around the whole basilica. I really loved it.

Group lunch was outside at a beautiful restaurant. We had LARGE shells with tomato guinea fowl sauce. It was DELICIOUS. The second course was really tasty, but VERY fatty pork. As usual, we ordered white and red house wine. Until I poured myself a glass of red, I didn’t realize that it is customary to try the white first. I didn’t try the white, but everyone who had it enjoyed it. It was a very heavy lunch and we were all sluggish after.
Our final visit was to the Arena Chapel Giotto to see the frescoes. Frescoes are very rare in Venice, so
it was nice to see wonderfully preserved frescoes on the mainland. The images went through the stations of the cross, with some extra touches, like the kiss of Judas. There were many other images including 7 vices and virtues, saints on the ceiling, and the last judgment on the west wall, near the exit. I love when the Last judgment is depicted by the exit, as if to remind parishioners to behave once they leave church.

I really enjoyed having Professor Corrigan with us today. He had no trouble announcing to Dr. Lazar that he did NOT want to go to a particular exhibit. He was pressed for time, and preferred to go to the café. I really appreciated that he said something and we were able to relax.

We had about 20 minutes to shop around Padua before heading back to the train. We had our FIRST FREE NIGHT, which is why I am able to finally write some blogs. But first, I went for dinner, gelato and shopping with some girls from the group. It is 10:30 here. I am not tired yet, but I don’t plan on staying up too late. Tomorrow is our free day, and I want to have a leisurely day without appointments.

Buonanotte!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb