The Best Gelato in the World?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
May 11th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


***This blog was written a week ago, but we haven't had internet until now. There is a lot to be caught up on, including some changes to our travel plans, which we will hopefully update you on soon...

Two days ago, Tim and I met Tim's parents, Steve and Marilyn, at the Florence airport. We had been looking forward to their visit for quite some time - it is Steve's first time overseas ever, and Marilyn's first time in Europe since she was in her twenties (so 10 years ago), when she went on a biking trip with her friend in the UK. This was their first time to a country speaking a different language, living a different life, in a very different part of the world. They are with us as we discover Italy - we are exploring Tuscany this week, and then we head towards Rome, stopping over in Assisi and Spoletto. We will split for just over a week while they gallivant on a cruise in the Med, and then we meet up one final time in Rome for a week. Jeepers. And then it's home-time.

We have a car rented until Rome, and Tim is the main driver. I am actually quite impressed with the size of the car - it's one of the biggest cars I have seen in Europe. My past experiences with car rentals in Europe (3 cars total) has been that they are just a bit smaller than you would like - or a lot smaller, like when we rented a car in France with Soup and Mike for our trip to the Northern coast, which was just a bit larger than a Smart car. For four people. Tight fit! But our car for Tuscany is huge. I feel bad for Tim having to drive it, because large cars and small Italian roads don't necessarily mix well.

Unfortunately, the GPS that the Smiths brought wasn't loaded properly, so we navigated our way to our apartment/villa the old fashioned way - with a little bit of guesswork and a large road map. After one or two missed turns and I am sure a few illegal moves, we found ourselves following country roads through beautiful olive trees and grape vines, lush rolling hills, and rain. We stopped at a small restaurant for some delicious pasta and rissoto, and made our way to our final destination in the hamlet called Iano.

Our apartment is in Tuscany heaven. It surpasses expectations of what you would think of when you think of an Italian villa in Tuscany. We have the first floor of a large house, with a huge yard, swimming pool, and pond where a couple of frogs and fish live. Our ceiling is curved bricks, our floor is cool tiles. We have two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a large room with our kitchen, table, couch etc. We arrived to meet our caretakers, who are very Italian, and I became the 'official understander' of what was going on, which more involved me motioning with my hands a lot.

A quick side note: I think it's hilarious that there are some cultures out there, typically more than others, where people will continue to talk to you even though they know that you don't understand a word that they are saying. I have encountered this more in Italy than I have anywhere else in Europe, and the situation usually involves an old woman who talks very passionately and just waits for you to figure it out. I love it.

We are about an hour's drive from everywhere in Tuscany, with the exception of San Gimigniano, which is about 20 minutes away. We went today, with the main goal of visiting (and tasting) the World's Best Gelataria. Now, I have seen a lot of claims, all over the world, of “The World's Best Pizza” or “The World's Best Coffee” in multiple locations - words that are slapped on a sign hoping to fool or entice customers, gullible or not. But this was legitimately the World's Best Gelato. It has won an (or perhaps the?) international competition 3 years in a row now. What I want to know is where is this competition, and how can I sign up to be a judge?

Now, the question you are all dying to ask is... was it the best gelato I have ever had in the WORLD? I will first start by explaining that while this gelateria had many of the typical flavors (pistachio, mint, chocolate, vanilla etc.) it's claim to fame is some more unusual and creative flavors, like the well-advertised grapefruit/champagne. Within 15 minutes of arriving in S.G., we found the shop and chose our flavors. I went for the grapefruit/champagne and creamy vanilla combo. And I must say... I have had better gelato. It might be my own fault, because I have learned through previous trial and error gelato experiences in the Italian countryside that I prefer the creamier gelatos (mint, pistachio, cream, vanilla, etc.) to the fruit-based gelatos. I find that the texture is more icy in the fruit-based gelato and I don't like it. My favorite gelato combination was in Cinque Terre, where I had pistachio and white chocolate. I have also had the pleasure encountering a peanut butter flavor. Yum.

So while the Best Gelato in the World was good, it wasn't my favorite. Maybe they need some new judges... I'm sure I could fit it in part-time or something. But fear not; I will not be deterred by the Best Gelato in the World not being my favorite. I will venture on in the land of Italia and try as much of it as I possibly can.

Sarah





Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb