Assisi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
June 3rd 2007
Published: June 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before we made it to Assisi we had to stop in a pottery warehouse. I am not certain, but Sebastien said it had something to do with Antonio doing paperwork there or something...either way it was just a reason for the pottery people to get a bus load of tourists into their shop. When we got there a woman walked us around her warehouse and showed us examples of plates and mugs that they hand paint or whatever. Unfortunately for her, I had actually taken a ceramics class last year so I knew the stuff there was way overpriced, so I didn't buy anything.
BUT, Assisi is so beautiful. It is such an old, quant town. It was only a few minutes from the ceramics factory, and the products they had in the city were much nicer and much more worth the money in my opinion. I am not sure of much because Sebastien wasn't allowed to be a tour guide within the walled city, but it is my understanding that St. Francis is from here or something. There are a few basilicas scattered around the city, and the city is on a hill, in a mountained area of Europe, and it is very easy to walk the length of the small town. There are actually monks that walk the streets of the city, and they sell little monk souvenier statues at the tourist shops! Since I broke my stein from Germany, I havn't really been buying expensive glass so I didn't get one... We only had about 2 hours in the city, which was barely enough time for me to eat, hike up the hilltop to an old castle, and walk the length of the town to see the Basilica. I will have to come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb