Ciao Toscana!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
June 19th 2008
Published: October 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Florence, I decided to wander around the streets and enjoy the atmosphere that the city is famous for.

I found myself enjoying the outdoor sculpture garden of the Piazza della Signoria which is full of marble and bronze statuary, including a copy of the famous "David". It's amazing to see so many incredible sculptures in such a small area.

I wandered to the Church of Santa Croce, where many famous Florentines are entombed, including Michaelangelo, Galileo and Macchiavelli. Thought to be the highest expression of Gothic Florentine architecture, it is covered with coloured marble in geometric shapes and is adorned with incredible artwork inside.

I made a particular point of finding the central market, full of hustle and bustle. There is nothing like the discourse between vendor and buyer, the smell of fresh fruits and vegetables, the bright bursts of colour and the smooth aroma of fresh leather. I believe that you can truly discover the soul of a culture in its markets and the markets of Florence were no disappointment.

Tomorrow I am off to Vienna, to explore another culture and another market, I hope.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb