Tuscany


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
September 30th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am running out of adjectives to use as every where I go is totally beautiful, gorgeous and stupendous. Since leaving Milan we have based ourselves in Siena and done day trips from here. We have been to Florence and San Gimmiano as well as exploring Siena. Florence is a big city where we went to the Acadamia and saw Michaelangelo's David. Superb sculpture from the 1500s. Siena and San Gimmiano are smaller places with a huge amount of charm. This morning Em MADE me climb the bell tower here in Sienna which is the 2nd largest tower in Italy and has 390 very steep steps. Wow the view was amazing and I had to stop complaining as there were older women than me climbing to the top. Em being Em climbed the tower in Florence in the Duomo in Florence as well.
The views driving to San Gimmiano were amazing, beautiful views and exactly what I expected of Tuscan landscapes from what I have read and seen on movies like "Under the Tuscan Sun" and "Letters to Juliet". Big Tuscan villas and vines, sunflowers and red poppies and conifers. I tried to get photos but it was hard to do it justice.
Tomorrow we are heading off to Rome where we will see the sights there like the Colloseum, Trevi Fountain and the Sistine chapel and the Swiss guards at the Vatican.
I have been sleeping extremely well at night as I am usually exhausted from all the walking and Siena and San Gimmiano have some very steep hills. The food continues to be delicious with local specialties of funghi (mushrooms) and osso buco and the pulped tomato sauces on pasta and gnocchi and of course the gelatis. I have not tried the wild boar though.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb