Ciao, Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pistoia
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This morning I woke up and bid a sad farewell to the city that claimed my heart. Ciao, Roma! I towed my luggage the distance from Quattro Fontane to the termini, found my biglietto (pronounced beelYETto = ticket) and found binario quattro (beeNARio QUAtro = track four). I took the Eurostar north to Firenze (Florence), then transferred onto the local treno (train) to Pistoia - I actually missed the first one, but there’s one every hour.
I’ve had to learn how to say “Scusi, non capisco.” (“Sorry, I don’t understand.”) because so many people keep mistaking me for a native of Italia. The further I get from Roma the less Englese people speak. Luckily, I’m picking up the language very quickly. Most recently, I’ve learned the new phrases “Carino bambino” (cute baby) and “Non lo so” (I don’t know).

Once I arrived at the stazione at Pistoia, I stood outside waiting for a taxi to no avail. I noticed two young girls speaking English. Turns out they were also arriving students of the Center. We decided to take the blubus and one of the girls spotted me the 1.30 euro to ride. No one on the bus spoke English and I’m the only one out of the three of us that spoke any Italian, but we managed. I taught the bus driver to say “heavy” in English and he laughed at me because I accidentally said “Buonasera” (Good Evening) and it was early afternoon (“Buongiorno”)

Once at Villa Rospigliosi, we were greeted by the director, his lovely family, a few of the faculty members and several returning students. The Villa is… beyond description. The driveway is bordered by gardens on both sides, where fresh peaches, tomatoes, squash, zucchini, beans, figs, etc. are grown. The pathway to the entrance is spotted with beautifully blooming roses and other varieties of flowering plants and bushes. The façade of the building is a pleasant yellow stucco with greenish to turquoise-colored shutters.

I was shown to my room (#20) on the second floor. There were four beds, of which only two would be used - one by myself and one by my roommate, Kathy. They are rod iron, twin size, and covered in matching lemon yellow blankets. There are nightstands, two armoires, and a desk. We have a private bathroom, as well. What really caught my attention, however, was the wide open window. Two glass panes that open vertically with no screen, but with two wooden panes that can close after them to block out the morning sun. The view from them is possibly the most breathtaking I’ve ever seen, a mountain side thick with forest and dotted with villas…and to the left an olive grove that we’re free to roam at our discretion.

I had a nap to recoup from the traveling and awoke just in time for dinner. We were served the most spectacular meal. The first course was lasagna, not the lasagna that we’re used to in the west, but a very light dish baked with fresh tomato. Next, we had roasted potato, green beans, and our choice of fish or thinly sliced beef with a brown gravy. Then came the salad and for desert we had berries and fresh figs. Of course, the wine flows freely.

There was a wedding reception being held at the back of the villa. The bride and groom invited our group to join. Full buffet, dancing, champagne and wine!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Fantastic ViewFantastic View
Fantastic View

View of Pistoia and olive groves from the Villa


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb