Day 5- Montepulciano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pienza
September 13th 2015
Published: September 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We leave Cortona heading to our morning destination of Montepulciano, famous for their wines! Up until now, I have not seen any vineyards. Although I have passed through lots of farmland, they have been primarily plowed over fields of wheat with some sunflowers. Now I start to see the vineyards.

Arrive in Montepulciano. I leave my bike with our guide Mark and walk the town utilizing my guidebook that I had downloaded onto my iPhone. It's nice for me to have a gudiebook to point out the usual items that I would walk right past.

My afternoon ride is an extension ride that our guide Pierre mapped out for me. While the ride was rewarding with steep climbs to beautiful vistas, it had some very off-piste sections (gravel). The town of Petroio was particularly charming. I was riding past the bell tower as it chimed 4 PM. Also, because it was not marked, I had to stop frequently to check my location on Google maps. I needed Cari and her intuition today! I arrive in Pienza at my Hotel for the next two nights - Relais il Chiostro di Pienza. I sit on the terrace, to enjoy a glass of local vino rosso and chat with members of our group (Joann, Gord & Bryce all from Canada) before we head to the group's dinner spot.

Ciao!

Ride Stats:

Miles: 47.

Avg MPH: 11.2

Total Elevation Gain: 4,304 ft.

Food Journal:

Dinner: Appetizer - Flan with Parmiggiano cheese?, Pasta - Bucatini w/Amatriciana Sauce?, Main - Sliced lamb and potatoes?, Dessert - chocolate flan??

Advertisement



13th September 2015

I'm sorry I wasn't there for route help, and to enjoy the beautiful scenery and wonderful food and drink. Next time!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb