Last Day in Firenze Sad and Happy...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 16th 2015
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.7687, 11.2569

Last day in Firenze, both sad and happy, I know all of you women out there understand that state of emotion! Sad to leave an interesting city and also leaving the language school when I have SOOO much still to learn, just a baby in this language for sure. But at the same time happy to get to meet up with a friend and visit other very cool things that will be new and some repeats, but new for Karen.

The school was good, everyone else in my class was staying for at least another week some for a month, one for 3 months. There were 3 of us in there in our 50's, which was nice, but it was great being in there with 20 somethings, we were in the same spot in many ways which was nice too. I received my "certificate" of completion, not sure of what, I guess putting my 5 days in and paying!? The staff was all very nice and helpful, a pretty young group except for a couple of older instructors, though I didn't really have any interactions with them.

Note to self: if I come back to language school must
Chiesa Santa CroceChiesa Santa CroceChiesa Santa Croce

Painted on the doors of a chapel, includes the d'Medici coat of arms in the middle.
study and review more before I arrive!!!

After class was over, I decided to take advantage of the cumulative ticket I had that would get me into the Church of Santa Croce. Being very tired of carrying the books, I went back to the apt and dropped them off before heading over to the church. The famous leather school is connected to it in the back so went in there first. This was started after one of the world wars to help orphans learn a trade so they could support themselves. They have a famous tradition of creating extremely well made, quality, leather goods. The purses were beautiful, I overheard prices quoted in the thousands and multiple hundreds.... I didn't even ask...
After this went into the Basilica, beautiful as they all are, I do have photos but for some reason, things in that department aren't working well so will work on it tomorrow probably. I then walked across town to Santa Maria Novella, another beautiful church. I guess I have to say that I'm very tired of seeing Jesus Christ in His crucified state all over the place. He is arisen and sitting on the right hand of God the Father so would love to see more of that aspect of Him celebrated. There are a few but not many, especially if you were to compare the instances of the two. I then made my way to the highly celebrated Officina Profumo - Farmaceutica of Santa Maria Novella, beautiful and wonderful smelling perfumes, soaps, etc... again very expensive, it's been around since 1612!

Sat for a few minutes in the Piazza della Santa Maria and enjoyed the view of the piazza with the sun and beautiful sky over the buildings. Set off for my last passegiata in Firenze, passing the Duomo and Baptistry on the way back to the apt. I am now packed and ready to meet my taxi at 8:20 in the morning. I am actually very tired so am going to TRY to get to bed soon, right now it's 10:35.

A few random observations before I go:
*People wear jeans here.
*Men, women, and even bambini of 2 years of age wear scarves.
*A TON of people smoke, young, old, and in-between...
*If "tennis" or sport shoes are worn they aren't white, they are dark and not ratty looking.
*Men wear more colorful shoes than women.
*Women carry very nice purses ;-) that shouldn't be too surprising since we're in the capital of great purses!
*Lots of bikes are being ridden and not just by young people. I've seen people smoke, wear dresses, use their umbrellas, and carry their dogs all while biking.
*Italians must be the best parallel parkers ever, I'm amazed at the small spaces they slide into, I would need twice that much space to attempt it.
*Mammas and Babbo's (daddy's) use their strollers, they are not umbrella strollers they are sturdy big ones to handle the cobblestones.
*Dogs are very loved here, small ones and huge ones live in the city and are faithfully taken out by their owners. They are allowed in the stores and restaurants, I haven't seen a naughty one yet, they seem to be well trained.

Much love to my family, I am missing you and am wondering why I thought 3 weeks was a good idea? But it's a long way to come to stay a short while and we have an ambitious list of things to do and see, will keep you up to date!

A Domani!

p.s. FitBit Steps - 20,227 steps which is 8.71 miles will update the other days I forgot to put this in.



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

At Santa CroceAt Santa Croce
At Santa Croce

Thought to be the precurser to the Statue of Liberty


18th October 2015

Am just now catching up with your blog (missed a few days). There is a lot I could comment on, but I'll just say -Yay for the dogs! :) Maybe I WOULD like Italy :) I am so impressed with your blogging, and I know you will be glad you took
the time when you get to look back and read it in the years to come. Glad we could get in on it. Praying for you.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb