3rd Day: Sorry not too creative with the titles...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 14th 2015
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Roman theatre underneath P. VecchioRoman theatre underneath P. VecchioRoman theatre underneath P. Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio also was known as Palazzo della Signoria, on the Piazza della Signoria
Geo: 43.7687, 11.2569

Another good day in Italia! Same story really got up, had two hard boiled eggs that my hostess has been nice enough to prepare for me. I was really dreading the cornati for breakfast that is the usual fare, she asked what I would like and I mentioned the eggs and she was nice enough to accommodate me, so I have that and a cup of tea in the mornings. I leave the apt. about 8:20 or:25 and it takes 25 minutes to walk to the school. At that time the shops aren't open except for those that serve caffe and the sweets/dolce in the morning. But all the suppliers and delivery trucks are out and about, crowding the streets with their larger vehicles, they wouldn't be able to navigate the streets later probably with more people around, just a guess, it's probably more convenient too!

The school is o.k. we are moving really slow, so I am probably not going to have progressed much in the grammar department, but my conversation and vocab will have improved I think. Don't ask me to talk in Italian, my brain will freeze up! I definitely have to have something specific to talk about, we are doing a lot of describing and interviewing each other during that part so it's pretty fun and interesting or interessante!

I'm really running out of time to visit the museums I want to see here, so after class, I went to the Palazzo Vecchio in the Piazza Della Signoria which I've mentioned before. This time I was able to go in and see it, bought the audio guide which was very good, could hear the narrator very well this time, I must be getting old to mention things like that... So I didn't know that there is a Roman ruin underneath the Palazzo, I paid extra to visit the excavation site, they didn't have it on the audio guide so I didn't get lots of info, just what I could read on the displays. Loved seeing the rest of it also, this was the seat of the Renaissance, Florence had a currency that the rest of the world would use and base theirs on, the home of Michelangelo, Dante, several popes, etc... this housed some of the most powerful and feared people in the world at one time. Now they and their power are gone, it reminds me of the verse here (well it's at the bottom because this won't allow something copied and pasted to be in the middle). Anyway, one of the reasons I love history is it puts the present in perspective, at one time the Roman Empire ruled the world, what the emperor said was law, same to a certain extent in a more limited area could be said about the powers that were in Florence, but the same end comes to all and the only thing that matters is where you are in your relationship with Jesus Christ. So check out the verse at the bottom and it will really put things in perspective! Unfortunately some of the rooms were closed at the Palazzo, but fortunately, I was able to still listen to the audio guide which was on an iPad with photos, so it was almost like I was in them, nice!

I think I spent 2-2.5 hours there? time flies when you're having fun... too early to go back to the apartment and places were still open so I wanted to take advantage of that. I found my way to Michelangelo's Casa, so cool to be in the house where he lived, my camera battery died, so I took some photos with my phone if I can get them from my phone to this blog I'll post them. So far they won't email... not sure why probably too large of files.

After enjoying that, I came back to the apt, and did my homework, did some work emailing, and visited with my nice hostess. Tomorrow I'm going to try to visit the Pitti Palace across the Ponte Vecchio where the Medici moved, that's why the Palazzo is now called Vecchio because it became the old palace... before it was known as the Signoria.

A domani, unless I update further with photos!

Matthew 10:28And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

Fit Bit steps: 10,442 which is 4.5 miles, not too impressive today...



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

and againand again
and again

Guess who's in the middle getting crowned by the angels? Cosimo d'Medici
I think this is the Audience ChamberI think this is the Audience Chamber
I think this is the Audience Chamber

Where the Medici would see their "subjects"...
Hall of LiliesHall of Lilies
Hall of Lilies

Has the fleur de Lis of France as Catherine d'Medici was the queen at one point, so a big connection between the two houses.
A map- guess where!A map- guess where!
A map- guess where!

Map of Italia
and again...and again...
and again...

Looks like the Arabian penninsula
The bathroom facilitiesThe bathroom facilities
The bathroom facilities

Luxury bathroom in the Palazzo!


16th October 2015

Wow, looks cool. I bet you enjoyed the maps room! Miss you, but sounds like you are having a good time and learning lots.
27th October 2015

This is sooooo beautiful, Wendy!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb