My First Week in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
February 28th 2014
Published: February 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

As I sit here in Florence and reflect on this past week I can't believe all we've done so far. Ann mentioned our first trip into the center of Florence in a previous blog. Bright and early Monday morning David, the Director of the school here, gave us the names of our students, gave us a cell phone and told us to contact them and arrange a study time. It's our responsibility to do everything that needs to be done with our students to schedule & teach a class. So, I immediately started texting all of my students in English. I sure hoped they could read English. 5 students responded with a time to meet and my 6th student is in a grad course in Pisa and can't study at this time. I have met with 3 of my 5 students and they have a wide range of English fluency, from very little to fluent. I found that most of them can pronounce the words but don't understand the meaning so that is where I'm spending my time. On Thursday evening I taught a bible class at the church in Florence where I had two students. Again, understanding word meaning was the challenge. I felt really sorry for my 2 students. Can you imagine me trying to define "amazed" from Luke 2 to people who don't understand English and I don't speak any Italian. Then there was my student who asked why "whole" and "hole" sound the same but are different words. His question was why? We made it through in both situations and t me it's just another example of the Spirit carrying me through. I guess I did ok because I'm teaching again next week. This time I'll read ahead and look for words I may need to define.

The school is located in a town call Scandicci, about 30 minutes by bus from the center of Florence. We live on the 3rd floor here at the school and Ann's knee is doing fine. We are also doing a lot of walking as we get acquainted with the neighborhood and coffee shops, pastry shops, bread shops, well you get the idea. Everyone pitches-in to do the chores and whatever else is needed. I've included some pictures to try and give you an idea of where we are staying. Our weather here has been light rain in the morning and sunshine in the late afternoon with the temperatures in the 50's.

Tomorrow, Saturday, we are headed out to visit a town about an hour from Florence, Ann mentioned it in her blog, that is Medieval in character. Pictures and more to follow. Oh, and today David and the teachers, 2 young Harding grads, installed translation devices in the church so we can understand the sermon on Sunday. Well, it's time for dinner so I better go down to the kitchen and see what I can fix. Until next time........ Mike


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



2nd March 2014

Good start Mike and Ann
Thanks for bringing us up to date on your adventure. Your messages make it sound like you have a great start and will do much good -- and will have good opportunities to become re-acquainted with Italy. We visited Williamsburg, VA this week for our history lesson, but it does not compare with your opportunities to visit relics and structures from medieval times. We will be looking forward to more of your story when you return home.
3rd March 2014

We enjoyed your blog, Ann. We're glad you and MIke are there.
I've never done what you two are doing, i.e., teaching English through use o the Bible. I've spoken to Italian audiences, but only through a translator, so give me any information you have that might help me. We've taught in Poland in a similar work. That should help us. Keep the blogs coming. Jim and Louine
3rd March 2014

whole vs hole
What an interesting question to encounter. It's these small things that throw me off sometimes. It seems like an easy concept until you have to explain it to someone that uses a different language than you. This reminds me of the period of time I was a student teacher in a second grade classroom. Even though I was only there for half of a semester, I came across so many questions like this one. Specifically I remember a time when I was teaching a student patterns. He kept asking me why does this shape go next or why that was the right number. I was so lost for words within two minutes. All I could do was keep repeating myself. After all, second graders do not have the biggest vocabulary themselves. Once I got to know the student better, it was easier to teach him things by relating it to past experiences we had together.
4th March 2014

Sounds like a great start
Sounds like you two are off to a great start. We all miss you hear but are glad you are enjoying your time in Italia.
6th March 2014

Hi
Thanks for the updates and glad you are doing fine. We miss you here but are happy for you. Taylor and I had a great week in Williamsburg. We are getting tired of the snow. Love, Wendy

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb