I got into Bologna


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 13th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I got into Bologna, and it was quiet, very quiet since it is a college town and it is August. I walked around and did not want to stay. The city architecture was a little different than others in that all the sidewalks were under the buildings in that the 2nd floor overhung above the sidewalk. Seemed perfect if there are a lot of rain storms, it would allow you to walk forever and not get wet. The only thing interesting in the city were 2 famous towers I went to see that were right next to one another. One is straight (imagine that) the other is leaning. There was at least one other leaning one I saw. Combine these, the leaning tower of Pisa, and the famous bell tower at St. Marks square that fell over in 1902-ish and I am not too sure about Italian standards of construction.
It was a Saturday night and I am in a quiet deserted college town. So I looked on a map and saw that I was close to Florence. I have already been but thought that that city could be fun for a Friday. I arrived in the afternoon and got a hotel in the heart of the city. It was hot and I had done the sights before so I took a nap only to wake up to catch a pub crawl at a hostel nearby. This was not a hostel I had ever seen before. There was a pool, sauna, steam room, nightclub in the basement and a roof top bar on the 5th floor with views of the city. I had a great time on the pub crawl and decided to stay another night in Florence, this time at the hostel.
I checked in and went right for the indoor pool. Tons of people were there from all over but some people from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and I hung out for a while and some of us agreed to go out later that night. We went for Mexican food, great just what I need in Italy. It was the worse and most expensive Mexican I have ever had. I spent over $17 for a crappy burrito. Afterwards we went up to the hill across the river and grabbed some wine and then called it a night. I woke up the next morning to head for Siena, this is one of the few places for this trip that I must go on a certain day because I have hotel reservations for the Pallio Horse race. Before heading out I wanted some breakfast and I tried my hardest both today and yesterday to find a place that served eggs Florentine. No luck.
I headed to the bus station because it is faster than taking the train. The scenery was great. The countryside reminded me a lot of northern California in the summer time, except every now and then there were small castles and fortified cities on hill tops that were very well intact, I saw at least 2 of them- but I was taking small naps in between.
Off to the Italian version of the Kentucky derby.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb