Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 27th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, have to make this quick since it’s late, we’ve had a LONG day and we have a long day tomorrow as well.

So for starters, we woke up in Milan pretty early and booked it for the train station, bought an awesomely cheap ticket to Venice and headed on our way. Last night we discussed the possibilities with the guy at the hostel/hotel desk. Funny enough, he preferred to speak to us in Spanish because he speaks little English and I only speak a very little bit of Italian…so seeing as we both spoke a fair amount of Spanish, Spanish it was! Yay! Who woulda thought in Italy… So anyway, it was a 3-3.5 hour ride (like I said, it was the cheap train) to Venice. We arrived around 10:30 and checked our luggage into the station because we most certainly would NOT have made it through the day without doing so.

Much of our day consisted of walking the streets of Venice and stopping to take a photo of every canal crossing BECAUSE THEY WERE ALL SO COOL! We didn’t go on a gondola ride because they’re pretty expensive and I think we all mutually and unspokenly decided against it. I think it would have been fun but $ is $ on this trip. We found some nice little shops, a nice place for lunch and just enjoyed the ambiance. We went into the basilica and I made the best fashion statement ever with my romper, jacket and table-cloth-like covering we could buy for $1E to cover up either our legs if we had shorts on or our shoulders. It was pretty impressive the way the mosaics glistened…sorry I couldn’t take pictures soooooo just imagine coppery-brassy colored mosaic ceilings. Hmmm. Prob not the best visual. Sorry, it’s 1:30am and I’m impressed my brain is working at all at this point!

I’m just going to upload a bunch of pics and let them speak for themselves. In the evening, we took the much faster and much more comfortable train to Florence—of course we had to pay more but there were no other options, so comfy and fast it was! In Florence til tomorrow night when we head to Rome…on a 4 hour cheap journey which probably won’t be as fun to train snuggle dance in. Yep, that’s what happens when you’ve traveled too much and visited 3 major Italian cities in one day…
I love how I just chose Tuscany for my blog entry. 😊 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Monkey See, Monkey Do 3.0Monkey See, Monkey Do 3.0
Monkey See, Monkey Do 3.0

Pinocchio is popular in Venice.
My ROCKIN' outfit!!My ROCKIN' outfit!!
My ROCKIN' outfit!!

Watch out USA...I'm bringing fashion back!


Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb