Lost Entry :(


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 9th 2011
Published: May 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wrote I huge long entry about my trip to Venice, a night of music on the US military base, my trip to Bologna and then to Florence, and I thought it was on here, but it's gone! I'm not happy. I also can't possibly rewrite all of it, so I'll give you the highlights:

Venice was amazing, obviously.

The music on the base was fun, I went straight there from Venice, but a little weird.

Bologna was uninspiring and there wasn't much to see, but the hostel (also uninspiring) had nice countryside surroundings which was nice.

Florence is lovely! It's nice to be here for some time.

I can't believe it didn't save and/or publish that entry. I'm afraid you'll ahve to make do with what happened after that.

Yesterday, as you should have known, I walked around a bit, saw the Duomo and went around the Accademia (which had nothing much that I liked except David and the paintings around it). Today I went on the hostel's guided walking tour of the city, which was really interesting. We saw different styles of churches and lots of palazzo. And we ate gelato from the original shop! (or so they told us..) We went to the Pitti Palace, which is huge but like everything else is closed on Mondays, and ended up on the Ponte Vecchio, with all its amazing jewellery shops. We got a lot of history and info along the way, it was great! I then tried to go to Siena, but firstly there was a huge, stationary queue outside the ticket office, and secondly all the trains to and from Siena were 'cancellato'. I have no idea why! So I abandoned that plan and had lunch before going to a palace with an art gallery, except that it was far too expensive. So I went back to the Pitti Palace, the gardens of which are open, and read a book in the sunshine all afternoon. It was wonderful! And I had good views of the city, too!

More tomorrow, if this actually works. If not I'm giving up!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb