Firenze (Day 74)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 24th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

dawndawndawn

just after dawn in firenze
Got off my train at 6:18 this morning and within 10 minutes I was at the hostel putting my bag down for the day. Headed out the door to accomplish one of my goals for the trip. Walking around as the city is still waking up. Made my way south across the river to explore the less visited side of town. Just on time to see people opening up the gates on their stores and others setting up their market stalls. Was nice to be out and about before beating everyone else and the heat. Florence is just what you would expect. A beautiful mid-sized city where everything seems to have some historical importance and usually during the Renaissance times. Makes me want to explore more of the Tuscany region.

Came back to the hostel in time to head off on another free walking tour. The tour wasn't bad but it was just too much historical info for me. Spent most of my time just talking with others on the tour and enjoying the sights myself. Went into the Duomo which is surprisingly pretty bare on the inside. Like, it's not even worth going in especially with the outside facade. I did enjoy though how any girl who did not have clothing covering their knees or shoulders had to wear this cheap covering being handed out at the entrance. They looked ridiculous. Oh, and anytime there was too much noise being made in the Duomo they would play this recording over the loudspeakers "SHHHHHHH....SILENCIO.....SHHHHH....SILENCIO!.....SILENCE!" So hilarious. Went to lunch with others from the tour and started my Italian diet. Had a margarita pizza followed by a handful of us going to Vivoli (sp?). Apparently this place has the best gelatto in Florence and maybe in Italy. I haven't gone anywhere else but they might be right. Was soooo good. Even the rice flavored one (kinda like rice pudding) that the woman there recommended/forced on me was quite quite good.

Had a little run in the park in the evening and ended up just hanging out with a bunch of people from the tour out in the courtyard here at the hostel before heading out for a quiet night. Good start to Florence though I am not sure I need all 4 days here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

bridgebridge
bridge

ponte vecchio
playplay
play

crazy guy doing his own play


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb