Farewell, Celebrity Summit!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 2nd 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

August 2: We Leave the Summit Behind


We left the Celebrity Summit bright and early in the morning. After shuttling, then taking the fabulous water taxi (vaporetto) to San Marco Square, we checked into the incredible Westin Europa. Off to the Ducale Palace. The pictures should provide some insight, but of course, cannot do it justice. Also gigantic, by the way.

We also hit Murano - the island just out of Venice (Venezia in Italiano) where they craft Venezian glass. We were fortunate enough to see a demonstration that proved that the skill required to make these beautiful crafts is pretty substantial. We found a ton of things that we wanted to buy here, of course. I loved this place!

Afterwards, Mark and I did exactly what I needed to do - wandered the city by foot and threw money at the shop-keepers for goods to take home (including ones for myself which my wonderful husband practically forced me to buy;-)

In my tupical style, I went out searching for wine in a city where that should easily have been achieved. However, next time I got to Italy, I have to remember that Sundays are not...a workfday for the majoirty of the Italians. It only took an hour of walking across bridges and getting lost AND overpaying for a bottle of prosecco before comimng to enjoy pizza dinner on the veranda of Tara and Mengu's suite in the company of a flock of seagulls (hey, they were hungry, too...)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Vaparetto viewVaparetto view
Vaparetto view

from our Water Taxi, we saw a photo shoot
On the CelebrityOn the Celebrity
On the Celebrity

Main stairwell


Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb