Venice!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We just got back from Venice!

I had such a great weekend. Friday we left for Venice and frankly I wasn't all that excited for it. I just thought it would be another Italian city, but I was so wrong. Venice is like no other city I have ever been to. First off, there are no roads, no cars. You get around this maze of a city by walking forever or by taking the water taxi, which is like the city bus. It is so easy to get lost, but that's half the fun! You find new shops or cafes around every corner and then eventually you find your way back to your destination.

I didn't really fall in love with Venice until we were sitting in St. Mark's Square at dusk. The lights were beautiful, music was playing and I just wanted to stay there forever. It was such a beautiful scene.

One thing that surprised me about Venice was all of the dogs! There are dogs everywhere! In shops, on the street, on boats, following their owners, etc. I definitely got my puppy dog fix. Today after lunch I passed a church and there was this cute little dog tied up, waiting for mass to get out, and he was nice enough to let me scratch his head for a while. I was in much need of some doggie therapy.

I did ride a gondola, but it was only across the Grand Canal, so I was probably on there for a total of 3 minutes. It was still a fun experience. I can't wait to go back. I didn't get to go inside St. Mark's Cathedral or the Doge's Palace, so I'll have to see them the next time I'm in Venice.

On Wednesday we went to see La Traviata in the Boboli Gardens. It was good. It wasn't amazing because it was outside and the accoustics weren't all that great and our seats were these teeny-tiny plastic chairs on aluminum bleachers. I only knew the main points of the plot, so it was kind of hard to follow along in some scenes. Of course the opera was in Italian, and that was so cool to hear, but then I didn't really know what was going on in some parts. It was fun, but we had to walk there and back in our heels and nice dresses. I'm not exactly sure how far we walked, but we walked for a good 30 minutes, there and back. We were really tired. But now I can say that I went to the opera in Italy!

I can't get pictures up just yet, but I promise I will as soon as possible. I just wanted to put a little something on here to let you all know about my amazing weekend. Tomorrow we head to Pisa to see the leaning tower and then we're going to the beach! I'm ready for a relaxing afternoon because we hardly get a break. We're always going somewhere, doing something, seeing some sort of artwork. But I love it!

Ciao!

Steph


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The best hot chocolate in the worldThe best hot chocolate in the world
The best hot chocolate in the world

I literally felt like I was drinking brownie batter, it was that thick!


28th July 2008

Wish I was there!!!
Hi Steph! Things have finally calmed down with my summer classes to sit and enjoy reading your entries. Wow what an experience you are having! A year ago this time Erin and I were in Sweden and Denmark, and a day hasn't gone by that I haven't thought about wanting to go back and experience more of Europe. Your pictures are amazing. I can't wait to see more, and hear stories. I totally understood your experience at the grocery store and figuring out how to find your way in a foreign city. While in Sweden, I finally decided if I kept waiting around to find someone to go with me places, I'd spend a lot of time going nowhere. So, off I went. It was exhilarating to think that I was finding my way around a European city alone! I found some amazing things on that evening walk. Mind you, I was a little nervous, and the map was kind of hard to read, but I did it! The grocery store was a hoot. Finally, a sweet english speaking customer walked with me back to the water section and helped me understand about "gas" or "no gas". Do they put ice in drinks in Italy? One night I literally tipped a waiter big time to fix me an iced tea with ice in it. It was delicious! Oh, and about the hot violin player.........I seem to remember something about another one that caught your eye not too long ago......hmmmmm......interesting. Well......gotta go study for one more final. Love you, and I'll look forward to more of your entries. Nina
4th August 2008

Venice - one of my favorites
I was in Venice in January!!!! The gondaliers were on strike. I walked and walked and walked some more - not a lot of tourists around. Went into every patisserie and had a hot drink as I walked. I loved Venice...It was so romantic and I didn't miss a car at all. My hotel was wonderful. The keys were huge and you left your key at the desk when you went out. It was way too ornate to carry with you. The breakfast was delightful and I really didn't want to leave but I had to catch a train to Paris. I relived Venice through your blog. Would love to take Mr. Honeycutt - wonder how he would survive????? I'm still here and expect to be here when you return. Could I interest you in some vino and bruschetta in exchange for a play-by-play of your trip????

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb