Firenze - the End


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 27th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

You are right, I didn't write for ages, only now I notice how long its been since I wrote but, you know how it goes with new babies....

Well, I didn't write because It was not the best time of my life, and I usually stay away from people when I am "down", so I did.


Sure, some of you would say - what is she talking about she is in FIRENZE... having fun, I wish I was there... some phrases involving God, nuts and teeth (each in his language).
But for me it wasn't great I didn't like my self and this period.
Looks like I am snapping out of this mood and the best excuse i have for that is that the Firenze chapter is over.


So, what do I have to say about Firenze? I have said it before, Its a beautiful town to visit but I don't think its a great town to live in (I can hear the shock, Firenze people, wait please...) It has a lousy weather - its too hot or too cold or too humid or too windi, or too dark, or too..... she has something like 2 great weeks in a year, 2 weeks that makes u think - I LOVE THIS TOWN, I AM SO HAPPY I AM HERE and then, the day after she is 10 degrees colder or warmer and u are dressed like u were dressed the day before which means you are either too cold or too hot. and its always like that...
then when the winter is over and summer arrives, so do the tourists. then the real Fiorentini are running away. in August you can hear more English then Italian in the streets, you can hardly walk in town center.


But I also have good things to say about Firenze and about the Fiorentini - the people who lives here (for generations)... the town and the people reminds me of TEL AVIV and its people (don't laugh, I can explain) both of the towns are loved by their people and hated and misunderstood by the others. Both of the towns people's think that its the best place in the world, they can't stand the idea of living in another place and if forced to they will always feel rootless and longing to be back.
I am avoiding the Hugh differences between the towns, that can be summed as "working hours": Tel Aviv is active 24 hours a day, Firenze is active 24 hours a week...


I can tell you the moment I understood I got used to Firenze. It wasn't when I got used to their pronunciation (they don't pronounce K but instead something like H), not when I got used to the fact that I will never understand why I can't find an open bakery on a Monday.
It was when, few weeks ago, a cool PORSCHE almost ran me over.
Until that day when ever it happened (almost never, babbo!!) I just stood there smiling, floating, feeling blessed that a Porsche came so close to my feet. (Girls, let me explain in words you can understand: it felt like Brad Pitt had decided to kiss me!!! from all the girls.. me!!!)
got it?
So - on that day, the Porsche almost ran me over and I found myself staring at the driver with my "what the F... are u thinking u stupid A..." look.
And that's when I got it: I am too used to Firenze.... have to move on...
So I became a tourist .


Five Days of Tourism




Two Israeli friends came to visit me: "O" is my friend, and "S" is her friend, whom I have met once before.
"O" is a friend for years now, I thought I knew her, didn't know she can change that much (into a pure shopping machine)... "S" seemed to me like the bigger problem at the beginning. She is a teacher and not only a teacher, she is a mathematics teacher, for brainy teenagers (the highest level of math thought in Israeli high schools). most of you know my history with school, teachers and most of all mathematics; for those of you who don't, let me give it to you in short: I didn't finish high school yet, I stopped studying mathematics when I was about 7 - few weeks after we have started and in total, I still am afraid of teachers, I am used to them throwing innocent me out of class.
I think we can call the 5 days trip I had with "S" pay back time.. (sorry, "S", now you know)..


the first thing we did was to rent a brand new car (boys, ALPHA 147, 1.9 Diesel with 4 KM!! practically a virgin!!) driving it was almost as fun and fast as driving Roger. ALMOST....
In total we had fun, It was a trip that involved the tourist's tour with some non touristic adventures, and shopping. TTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much shopping for me. Sometimes I was almost like the typical man - I had planned the trip and drove the car, I winged when they went shopping.. I must say, those 5 days had thought me that men would suffer a lot for some sex...
but u can see from the pictures that we had fun...


The next adventure would be 6 weeks of traveling in Italy, and then relocation to Rome...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb