I've been here for how long?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow. I’ve only been here 4 whole days but it feels like a lot longer. So far in my classes we’ve been to the Ponte Vecchio, the San Miniato Church, the Piazza/Church of the Santissima Annunziata, the Hospital of the Innocents, the Baptistry by the Duomo, the Duomo Museum, the Medici Chapels, Lauretian Library, and San Lorenzo Church, and then finally Casa Siviero. Like I said before, wow. It’s hard to digest all of that information, but I’m doing the best I can. It helps that I love everything that I’m seeing.

The Hospital of the Innocents was especially exciting because that was the first piece of architecture from Florence that I ever learned about way back in History of Interiors and Architecture I. It is so surreal to actually be there after studying these buildings and interiors for so long. I remember looking at these images in class back in Chicago and thinking, “I want to see that” and now I’m able to see them!

The first night Tony, our activities director, took us on a walking tour of the city. Florence has all of these curving, winding streets and it’s hard to know where you are at
Courtyard in the Hospital of the InnocentsCourtyard in the Hospital of the InnocentsCourtyard in the Hospital of the Innocents

This building has been an orphanage since the 1600s.
times, until you get a glimpse of a certain chapel or cathedral. That first night I didn’t think I would ever be able to navigate this city on my own. Luckily that has all changed. I don’t know most areas, but I know how to get to school and the market and the grocery store and where to find cheap gelato. It’s so cool how you don’t know what’s right around the corner. It really is an adventure.

All of the girls here are architecture history nerds, so we’ve been able to convince many museum docents to let us into private areas usually closed to the public. In the Casa Siviero we got to downstairs into the kitchen area and upstairs to the living area. The view from the upstairs balcony was amazing, even if there were older gentlemen sunbathing who should not be wearing tiny speedos.

Anyway, I have yet to do any shopping because this Saturday is the first day of the city wide sales tax holiday. I’ve heard that the last sales season wasn’t that great, so there should be killer deals.

My body has finally adjusted to the time change. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, but it was still difficult. The extra coffee also helped me stay awake. We have this cute little café right downstairs from our apartment housing. My roommate Laura and I have been there three times now. Cappuccinos are only 1,20 euro if you stand at the counter, which I don’t think is too bad. I’m still doing my research to find the cheapest, so I’ll let you know what else I find.

Tomorrow we’re making our way to the top of the Duomo, visiting the Uffizi Art Gallery, and visiting the Academia. That is a lot of stuff to do in one day. I’m finally going to get to see Michelangelo’s David, Botticelli’s Venus, and Titian’s Venus of Urbino! I still think it’s crazy how I’ve studied this stuff for so long and in such detail and now I finally get to complete my study by viewing them in real life.

This weekend we don’t have anything planned. It’s going to be nice to just relax in Florence instead of rushing to this museum or that site. I need some time to take in and process this first week.
Italian DogItalian DogItalian Dog

Don't worry Mom, he's alive. He's just tired of all of the tourist walking around his bedroom.


Ciao!

Steph


Advertisement



12th July 2008

Awaiting more news
Stephanie: We are glad you are enjoying your visit and school. Please write more about your activities and school.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb