Oh my soul, Fiesole! (he he, sorry)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I slept in to day. I needed it. After so much walking, musuem touring, and general excitement, my body told me to rest. Maybe it also knew it was Memorial day and that I should be taking it easy.

Well, that didn't last long. Despite the late start, we we off! Took a bus ride to Fiesole, and took in the Achelogical museum, which housed a lot of Etruscan stuff, as well as ancient Roman. There were some cools ruins to walk around. There were a few other small museums that were included with the ticket price, so we wandered into those. But the best part of Fiesole was the views. WOW! It over looks Florence on one side and the rest of tuscany on the other. The best views include a steep walk up the the Church of San Francesco. I noticed an international mail box up there, and sent out the second batch of postcards. Now from what I've heard of the Italian post office, as well as sending mail from this remote box, some of you should be getting their postcard some time in July.

Back in Florence, we took in the Duomo, the baptisim room (I can't think of the name right now) and the Museum that houses all of the originals, which is across the way from the Duomo. Then there was general walking around again, and back home.

Our landlady, Frederica, is letting me use her internet. She has been very gracious and helpful. I'm drinking some of her wine right now.

A side note about the men in Italy. Contrary to nearly everything I've been told, men do not pinch, touch, or harrass you here anymore. They don't do it to the women who were much hotter and younger than me, so I find that this is true. They do look. That I've noticed. My mom is a very slow walker and often I forget and wind up 40 feet ahead of her. She notices the guys who watch me go by. Whatever. It's not like that doesn't happen in the states. I do find that it's the old men who will look you over more obviously, or mutter "bene" or "bella," but they're so old that they're very harmless. They know that women can now kick their ass. As for the men being so good looking, I don't really agree with that either. Maybe it's because I live in LA, where everyone is pretty good looking. Here, for every one beautiful man out there (who also knows how beautiful he is) there are 10 that are average to ugly. The
biggest difference is that the men generally dress much better than men in the states. Their clothing is more fitted and I havn't seen a ballcap on a single Italian. So there you go. the ladies out there may be a bit dissapointed of the lack of abundant eye candy, and the men can breathe a sigh of relief that they won't feel emasculated while here.

Tomorrow is our last full day of Florence and then on to Venice. We're cramming in a bit tomorrow, but since we're nearing the final stretch of the trip, I feel we might as well.

Ciao,

ADJ



Advertisement



27th May 2008

What a trip ...
I'm catching up on your adventures ... it sound like you're having a fabulous trip. Be safe and enjoy the rest of your time there!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb