Under the Tuscan Sun


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
April 6th 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We woke up around 8:00am, finished packing up, got breakfast at the hotel, and then said a sad goodbye to Venice. We boarded the water taxi to get back to the train station, and then headed to Florence. We got lucky and were able to board the train without waiting, and arrived into Florence around 1:20pm. From there it was a little bit of a hike down unpaved roads with our luggage, and I ended up leaving my luggage with Gajal and Ly to run ahead and check into the hostel. We ended up getting placed at the Giulia guesthouse right across from the Galleria de Academia, which is where David is! It was a cute little room with bright colors and paintings. I guess welcome to Florence, city where the arts fluorished during the Renaissance.

By the time we got settled into our new place, it was mid-afternoon and too late to really check out any sites...so what else was there to do but more souvenir shopping! This time for very Italian gifts like leather belts/wallets, scarves, and silk ties. I tried to limit myself again today but it didn't work very well. Oh and then I discovered the lemonciello! Yuuummm! I was in heaven...I'd been dreaming of lemonciello ever since Diane Lane was drinking it in the movie.

OH OH OH! And then there were the moving singing door flapping smart cars! I couldn't resist and I negotiated with the guy to finally sell it to me for 5 euros. This would be the start of daily smart car playing in the hotel room...sorry Gajal and Ly. But I know they enjoyed it haha.

My exciting day continued as we got dinner at Spizzico...finally! Between the lemoncielo, smart car, and pizza, things couldn't get any better...except we needed gelato. So naturally we were off to get gelato again, even though it was a little more expensive in Florence.

At night, Ly decided to stay in so Gajal and I ventured off to find one of the bars that was recommended on hostel world. Surprise surprise we never found it because we ended up finding this really cool looking lounge/bar that ws very reminiscient of Old City. So we each ordered cocktails and our really cool bartender did all these amazing tricks while he made our driniks.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb