Hiking, a really big David, and more


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay,when we are paying by the hour, hard to take time to be creative. Mi scusi. All is well. We enjoyed hiking the Cinque Terre. Hiked our butts off cause a lot of up and down. MA Hoskins, you should come hike it. You would love it. We have been eating a lot and enjoying it. Jim ate a large portion of a whole cow last night. A la Vanessa style (it was still mooing). We are in Florence. One word for you. DAVID. Leaving in a bit to go to our next farm. Hope to come back to Florence for a day trip next week. Plus we have to complete our NCAA tourney brackets. And to the foodies out there, we had truffles in Paterno (our first farm). Forgot to include that. Delisimo. Ciao.
Squirrel

Not much to add. In Vernazza, the town is small, one street, down which the tourists pour and wash down to the harbor like a high tide, then recede back up and disappear again into the next train. By morning and evening it is a quiet little place;by day filled with daytrippers, yeah. Coming from there to Firenze was like being slapped in the face. But even Florence by night was calm and quiet compared to the throngs of people clogging the very narrow streets in the day. I don't know where they come from--all over, I guess. We have seen many famous sights but are looking forward to returning to the countryside. Ciao.
Moose

Advertisement



17th March 2008

getting caught up
Have caught up on blog reads now. Windie, my maternal grandmother always called me monkey...could we be distantly related? I don't think I have Italian heritage...although I do talk with my hands. The hikes, the food, and the farms sound fab! I imagine the countryside is just beautiful. Is all the pasta freshly made prior to serving? I wish you could see bearing fruit trees there, but I am sure it is too early. Gotta go get organized.--Rachel

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb