Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

VeniceVeniceVenice

last meal in Venice before my train departed
Day 9:

I met a nice couple during breakfast at my hotel in Venice before checking out. They're from the CA also, LA area. I find it helpful talking to other tourists. Hopefully, I've been helpful to them as well. It's like a tourist community.

I told them that I was planning on leaving my luggage at Santa Lucia train station for a few hours while I explored some more. They thought that it was a great idea. They may do the same tomorrow. =)

During my exploration, I tried finding Ae Oche from the Lonely Planet guide. I circled and circled but to no avail. I settled in on a Pizzeria in the same vicinity (I assumed there was a name change?). I ordered a pizza and beer. I felt aweful. It was huge and I couldn't finish it. I didn't want to take it on the train. Poor pizza. It had artichokes, mushrooms, tomato and ham. Yummmmmm.....

I almost missed my train to Florence. My ticket says to Firenze Santa Maria Novella 14:32 but the black board said Roma 14:32. I asked a conducter and he said, "Follow me. Here it is". As I
VeniceVeniceVenice

On the train again...
said, "Grazie", he took a payment of one long glance at my boobs. Bleh.

On the train, I was thinking how fortunate I am to be on this trip. What an adventure! What a luxury! During the first few days of my trip, I admit I was lonely and a bit homesick. But now as I'm nearing the end of my trip, I long for more! I suppose it took some time to acclimate to my surroundings and being on my own. I've never been so independent before. I'm actually proud that despite my awful sense of direction, it's gotten me this far in my trip. I know that even though I'm lost and not sure where I'm going, eventually I'll find my way. I also figure that you have to know yourself pretty damn well to survive out here. You have to be comfortable being alone with your own thoughts. I wonder what happens to those who aren't? Do they go crazy and never find their way back home and end up being one of those stinky bums on the streets?

I don't feel like it's only been 9 days out here. It feels like a month
FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

A double that Anna put me in mistakenly...oh well!
already!

Florence is crowded. Bustling. Noisy. Different. My hotel was stuck in the corner amongst the street vendors. But I found it! After leaving my things in the room, I went outside and explored and grabbed some dinner at a local restaurant, Palle d' Oro. I splurged and ordered a mixed salad, 1/4 liter house wine and tortellini ragu. I was full and drunk and stumbled back to my hotel.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

FlorenceFlorence
Florence

Damn Venetian mosquitos!!!
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

ALL OVER!!!
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

Steet market
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

meat shop...a vegans nightmare
DuomoDuomo
Duomo

is it prohibited to take pictures of nuns?
FlorenceFlorence
Florence

I found Dad in Florence "Renato"


26th May 2007

itialian men suck
yeah i forgot how pervy they are over there... and i don't even have 1/4 of the boobs you do. i'm so happy you're having fun. i had the same experience on my trip: i was really lonely in paris.. maybe it's the fact it was at the beginning of my trip or maybe it's just the city being so big and cold. i had my most fun in italy and spain because the atmosphere, people, and culture are so much more welcoming and relaxed. i miss you but please tell me more. christine
30th May 2007

biters
Hmmmm... i don't remember mosquitos. maybe you're just sweeter.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb