Day 11


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 28th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very memorable day mostly because we saw a lot well known art. First we saw the famous 'David' that was absolutly superbe and actually quite moving. The sculpture is at the end of a museum that, other than the David, does not have art of any significance. The David was centered at the end of a long hallway lined with half finished sculptures also by Michelangelo. They were quite good as well. They were all full of life almost seeming like they were writhing in an attempt to free themselves from the cold stone. But, I actually didn't look at these sculptures very much (unfortunatly) because I had a hard time not looking at the David. It was so much more moving to see it in person than I thought. Even though I have seen it millions of times in books, for some reason it just struck me in such a way that I had a hard time looking away. I had to walk all the way around him because no one ever takes a picture of the back side of the David so I wanted to see the masterpiece at all angles. It really is perfect. Not one flaw that I could see. So beautiful!
Next, we went to the Uffizzi museum (the museum that has pretty much everything else famous in it). It took us five hours to get through this museum! One of the major highlights of this museum was the special exibit on Leonardo da Vinci. So cool! It told some of the hidden facts about some of his more well know works (like for example the nude drawing of man inside a circle and a square called the 'Vintruvian man' is actually a perfectly proportionate man. His hand is something like one tenth of his body, his face is one fifth his body, his foot is one tenth his body and so on (something like that, I can't remember the exact numbers off the top of my head, but you get the idea).
Finally, we finished the night off by visiting a famous walking bridge called the Ponta Vechio where they used to sell meat, but they decided it was too nice of a bridge to sell meat, so now they sell gold and silver (jewelry). There were so many sparkly things I had to take a picture of one of the windows. I eventually found this very pretty amber siver ring that was actually affordable that I ended up buying. It has four different colored amber stones. Really pretty! Since tomorrow is Sunday and they have a CS church in Florence we went searching for the church so that we know how to get there the next day. We actaully got the address wrong so we didn't find it until the next morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb