The Beauty of Firenze


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 18th 2018
Published: January 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

When I had signed up for this trip, I had no idea what all we’d be doing during our time here, so I wasn’t too sure on what to expect. But, when we got our first schedule and I saw all the different galleries listed, the ballet and the places we would go to, I was so excited but still unsure on what to expect. Finally, after being here almost two weeks and seeing the Uffizi Gallery, David, the Duomo, etc. I have found an even greater appreciation for the city as well as the country. I feel even more connected with the city because I have learned so much history from it. I think it is awesome that we have been able to be in the same city as the great artists and influencers of the Renaissance era and the time periods beyond that. I have definitely just been in awe from all the things we’ve seen and experienced. Majority of the artists and the works of these artists that we have learned about so far, I had little to no knowledge about prior. We have done and seen so many major things that have truly made this trip an opportunity of a lifetime.



In the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Museum I felt the most emotion while being there. The Uffizi Gallery made me appreciate art at a level that I didn’t think I would. I couldn’t believe the colors of the paintings and the amount of detail that went into each painting was so beautiful. Seeing these paintings and different artworks make it hard for me to believe that it was all done by hand, just because of the perfection that is in each painting. Also, one of my favorite things about being in Italy in general is that most of the buildings I have been in, they all have artwork on the ceiling. It’s refreshing to look at something that’s not just a plain white ceiling. Every time I look up and see the beautiful art on the ceiling I think about that all being done by hand and it truly amazes me. It makes me feel a sense of accomplishment, that I’ve seen some of the paintings, sculptures and buildings that people all around the world would die to see. Being in the presence of the Duomo, from the outside makes you feel a mix of emotions. I remember when we first arrived and my first time walking past it, I couldn’t believe how big it was. It made me want to know more about what was inside and why it was there. Going to the actual Duomo Museum was an awesome experience for me because I enjoyed seeing all the pieces that are on the Duomo, up close and personal. The things that I liked most about the Duomo Museum were the sculptures of Mary Magdalene and the couple of sculptures I saw about Christ’s crucifixion. Those sculptures touched me and I definitely felt a spiritual connection to them because of the meaning behind them. The detail and expressions that are on these sculptures makes it seem like these artists were there for the actual crucifixion and the days leading up to Jesus’ return. The statue of Jesus on the cross immediately makes me feel a deep emotion of gratitude since he died for our sins and for us to have eternal life. The sculpture of Mary Magdalene, Jesus, Mary and Nicodemus by Michelangelo touched me deeply as well. I could see the sadness, and the agony on all of their faces from Christ’s death. It was definitely a feeling that I will never forget.



I’ve seen a couple of Italian families during my time being here, but it has only been in passing as were walking down the street. I haven’t been able to see a family in the same area as I have been to actually observe them. I definitely think I could live in Florence; it would take adjusting of course but I think I’d be able to enjoy it without getting too homesick. My family, I do not think would be able to live here. They wouldn’t like how walking and biking is a major form of transportation here. I also do not see them liking the amount of steps that you have to climb in some of the buildings. I also don’t think they’d be able to enjoy the food for long. I definitely think they would get tired of the Italian food and they would want to eat American food. I also think because this area is so touristy and busy, would be another turn off for my family. We live in a moderately paced area in Northern Kentucky, definitely a quicker pace than Richmond. I don’t see them liking the hustle and bustle of the city. If I lived here with my family, I would be the one that would have to always come to the city to get things we needed because I couldn’t see many of my family members wanting to go out and deal with the crowds. Living in Italy with my family would be fun if they were more into the city lifestyle. I don’t even think my family would enjoy vacationing here. I think they would enjoy what the city would have to offer and all of the things we have done but I ultimately think the city’s overall environment would turn them off from coming here.





STEPS:

January 17th: 8,432 steps

January 18th: 10,147 steps



TOTAL: 18,579

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb