Italy: A Fashion Lover's Dream


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 11th 2018
Published: January 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The past two days in Firenze have been so amazing. My fashion heart has been so in love with everything. From the daily walks, I’ve seen so many different styles and looks that just have me over the moon. So, when I found out that we were going to a fashion show for men’s fashion week I was incredibly excited. I couldn’t believe I was going to be attending my first designer fashion show in Italy. I have attended one or two fashion shows in the past but never an actual designer show. The Concept Korea fashion show at the Pitti Immagine Uomo, was such an awesome experience. I felt a level of exclusivity being there, since it was an invite only event. We were amongst some of the important people in fashion from not only Italy but from all over the world. I didn’t know what to expect but couldn’t wait to see the clothing and soak it all in. The first collection, BMuet(te) had a more neutral color palette. This collection had a lot of black, off white, grey and white pieces. I noticed a lot of jackets, hoodies and sweaters in both collections. In the first collection, there were many coats with lapels, and collars that were either flared up or had some sort of extra embellishment on them. I also noticed more of the pea-coat/trench coat style. Many of the pieces had extra detailing in the sleeves and even on the back of some of the coats. I saw a sweater with drawstring sleeves in the elbow area. I saw a couple of dresses which were past the knee and had a looser fit. The pants on the men were baggier in this collection. The main fabrics they used were wool, leather and cotton.



In the second collection, Beyond Closet, I noticed a little more of a punk vibe in some of the outfit choices. This designer used more color and different fabric choices than the other collection. The fabrics used were wool, cotton, polyester, silk and among others. I personally liked this collection better. I saw lighter colors like lavender, pink, off white and beige. Coats and sweaters were a huge staple in this collection like the other. I noticed more sweaters hanging off jackets and fur hats. Plaid was a common design used as well. I also noticed that some of the men were wearing sunglasses in this collection and carrying bags. The pants in the second collection were more tapered and fitted. I noticed two outfits throughout the show that the models were wearing shorts. And of course, there were scarves in some of the outfits in both of the collections as well. The models all had a natural look, none of the models had over the top make up or anything. The looks were pretty natural which I liked the idea of just because it did allow me to really pay attention to just the clothing.



The items in each of the collections, I could not really see being appreciated in a small town or even in Kentucky. Maybe in the bigger cities in America, more north specifically, I see these trends making somewhat of an appearance but not all of the items. People in small towns only know of the fashion that they see, unless they research on their own. That being said, the styles from this collection would have to make it to stores like J.C. Penney’s, or Kohl’s for people to wear these clothes or even have knowledge of them. The way Europeans dress is a lot more dressed up than your average American. I could see some people seeing the styles as “too much.” I feel like in more rural, and smaller areas, they have a simpler and basic style than what you would see over in Europe or even in bigger cities across America.





Yesterday, we visited the Gucci Museum, and that was so beautiful. Erin, Taylor, Breon and I went and we all were in awe. The theme of the museum was called Gucci Garden and it just opened yesterday, so it was pretty cool to be one of the first in the general public to see the new collection. All of the pieces and rooms flowed very nicely together and went along with the theme perfectly. On display they had furs with animals on them, shirts, purses and jackets with flowers, and bugs on them as well. The rooms were bright and colorful. It really did make you feel like you were in a mystical garden. In some of the rooms they even had old sketch books with sketches of purses and different garments. It was awesome to learn more about a well known and successful fashion house that began in Italy. I am so grateful to have gone and it is an experience I will never forget.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb